Small cloaking question.

First, let me say I am not an employee of Mongoose.

With that out of the way, the rules say that when a ship is crippled, you must roll a d6 for each trait. On a 4+ the trait is lost. So, if a ship with a cloak is crippled, you would roll for the cloak trait. If it is not lost, then I would say you do not have to de-cloak as it works normally if not lost.

Crippled ships may only fire 1 weapon per turn. So I would think that if you DO lose the cloak trait you would:

1) have the ship decloak normally if it has not moved. (It says that move and turn are because the actual position of the ship is not known.)

2) It could then fire one weapon system, since it is crippled.

The real question is what happens if the ship has already moved then it is crippled. Again, to simulate not knowing the exact location of the ship while cloaked, I would still let it move as if it was decloaking. I think we would need a ruling on that from Mongoose though.
 
I'm not a Mongoose employee either! :mrgreen:

I would say that if it has already moved for the turn, it's already moved for the turn, so no re-positioning move if it loses cloak. It does suck to be uncloaked, crippled, and under the enemy's guns, but c'est la guerre. Given how tough it is to penetrate cloak in the first place, you'd have to be freakishly lucky to cripple a ship which is under cloak, unless it was already close to being crippled anyway.
 
These are not the Mongoose Employee's you are looking for. You can go about your business. :lol:

With the jump move it represents the uncertanty of the cloaked ships location and the ability of the cloaked ship to position itself for the attack. I would be more harsh and say moved or not you uncloak exactly where you are if you are cripled and lose cloak. The ships may not be able to see your exact location because of the cloak but that cloud of wreckage around you is a dead givaway :twisted:
 
Again, I think some of you guys are reading too much into things. Nowhere does it say you can't cloak if you are crippled...

And, anticipating the next question, why would you be moving a ship in the Attack Phase?
 
Sgt_G said:
Stumonster said:
First, let me say I am not an employee of Mongoose.
Did you get an e-mail about that, too? If so, have you been able to figure out who it was from?

Sgt_G, I have not received any kind of email. Did you?

I just thought that it would be best to point out (as you do in your sig which seems a better way to go really) that this is just my opinion, not an official response of any kind. Given all the questions I have asked, I am in no case the final word on the rules! :D
 
On the subject of cloaking.
Does a cloaked ship which takes critical damage preventing it from using SAs, decloak or is it stuck cloaked?
 
msprange said:
Again, I think some of you guys are reading too much into things. Nowhere does it say you can't cloak if you are crippled...

And, anticipating the next question, why would you be moving a ship in the Attack Phase?

Ah, I must be getting confused with the following :lol:

Cloak is listed as a trait, the traits that can never be lost are listed on the Errata as Immobile, lumbering, slow. Crippled ships page 7 says "finally roll a D6 for every trait the ship possesses - on a roll of 4 or more the trait is lost.

Ergo Ipso Facto a crippled ship rolls for its cloak trait and on a 4+ the cloak is lost. Or am I wrong ? :wink: :lol:

Good point with movement though.
 
Captain Jonah said:
Ah, I must be getting confused with the following :lol:

Cloak is listed as a trait, the traits that can never be lost are listed on the Errata as Immobile, lumbering, slow. Crippled ships page 7 says "finally roll a D6 for every trait the ship possesses - on a roll of 4 or more the trait is lost.

Ergo Ipso Facto a crippled ship rolls for its cloak trait and on a 4+ the cloak is lost. Or am I wrong ? :wink: :lol:

No, you are right there - but it depends on that 4+ being rolled, it is not a carte blanche rule...
 
Ok. On a similiar note - if said ship was shot at and crippled while cloaked, then rolled for and lost its cloak trait, would it then be automatically de-cloaked at that point?
 
Stu -- off topic, but yes about two or three weeks ago I got an e-mail on my account at work. It was long and rambling but basically said that I and a few others had a long history of making blanket statements that could be confused as official rulings, and the sender was sick and tired of it and would "do something" if we didn't stop. I changed my sig block and then wrote a long reply back, only to find the Reply-To was invalid. It wasn't worth my time to pursue, so I deleted the original e-mail. I just have two things to say: First, please do not EVER send e-mails to me at work for anything not work-related. Second, to the person that sent it, if you want to have a civil discussion, use a valid Reply-To or the PM feature on the board --otherwise, *bleep* off.
 
Rick said:
Ok. On a similiar note - if said ship was shot at and crippled while cloaked, then rolled for and lost its cloak trait, would it then be automatically de-cloaked at that point?

Oh, yes. Big Time.

If you are playing against Romulans, knocking out Cloak when they are cloaked is a moment you live for :)
 
msprange said:
Rick said:
Ok. On a similiar note - if said ship was shot at and crippled while cloaked, then rolled for and lost its cloak trait, would it then be automatically de-cloaked at that point?

Oh, yes. Big Time.

If you are playing against Romulans, knocking out Cloak when they are cloaked is a moment you live for MWAHAHAHAHAHAHA :)

I slightly added to this post :lol:
 
But the original question was, does the de-cloaked ship now get to fire? And does it get the "move six inches because they don't know exactly where you are" move?
 
Sgt_G said:
But the original question was, does the de-cloaked ship now get to fire? And does it get the "move six inches because they don't know exactly where you are" move?
I believe Matthew answered the original question...
msprange said:
Rick said:
Ok. On a similiar note - if said ship was shot at and crippled while cloaked, then rolled for and lost its cloak trait, would it then be automatically de-cloaked at that point?

Oh, yes. Big Time.

If you are playing against Romulans, knocking out Cloak when they are cloaked is a moment you live for :)

"...automatically de-cloaked at that point" is the key phrase here. "At that point" means no movement. Plus, it is not doing the Special Action to Uncloak and it is not the move phase. It simply loses the Cloak trait.
 
Nasty. Means that damaged Romulans should never, ever get lazy - always move a cloaked ship as if it was uncloaked, JUST IN CASE! The idea of being uncloaked when you were hoping for another turn and a 6" move advantage to keep you safe doesn't really bear thinking about!
 
Red-24 ... to me, in the context used, "at that point" means at that point IN TIME. He implied that it doesn't get it's free uncloaking re-location (it's not really a "move" because it can go in any direction). Okay, if that's what the ruling is, we can live with that.

But the other question was NEVER answered: can a ship forced to de-cloak due to combat damage now get to fire this game-turn??????
 
Sgt_G said:
Red-24 ... to me, in the context used, "at that point" means at that point IN TIME. He implied that it doesn't get it's free uncloaking re-location (it's not really a "move" because it can go in any direction). Okay, if that's what the ruling is, we can live with that.

But the other question was NEVER answered: can a ship forced to de-cloak due to combat damage now get to fire this game-turn??????

I'm guessing that as long as it hasn't already moved or 'done something' (i.e; been 'activated' and taken its' turn) - it should be able to move and fire as normal (if in a slightly shocked manner! :twisted: ).
 
Back
Top