Rule Question: Critical Hit that doesn't penetrate

KaiserFranz

Mongoose
Hi all,

is it allowed to roll DDs when it isn't possible for a Gun to penetrate, so just trying to score "Critical Hits" with a Natural '6'?

Greets

Franz
 
A roll of a 6 on the damage dice will always cause a point of damage, so even weak weapons can hurt armour 6 with a roll of a natural '6'.(Main rules, bottom of page 7)

It won't however always cause a potential critical.
Weak weapons, that subtract 1 from dd roll, can only cause a potential critical if the target is armour 3 or less. (OOB, page 3)
 
getting along with what?

these are two different rolls

to hit (a 6 does not always hit)

and to damage (a 6 does always damage)
 
jedimasterwiggy said:
is it possible to get a chance to roll the DD if the attack dice need a 7+ to hit due to speeds and ranges?

No, as per page 7 of the main rules:

"A ‘1’ is always considered to be a miss. However, a natural ‘6’ is not always considered to be a hit."

You must roll to hit with each applicable AD.
Rolling against the target number of opposing ship, applying appropriate modifiers. If you need more than a 6 to hit, then you can't hit.

Any of these that hit, you then roll the DD for.
So if you hit with 2 turrets that are 3DD each, you will roll a total of 6 DD vs enemy ship's armour. If you need more than a 6, a 6 will still score damage.
 
I thought that was the case about not being able to hit but wanted to check as some systems allow for the 7+ roll and thought i had just missed where it said how.
Thanks
 
Back
Top