Rule Clarification Traveller

bolive

Mongoose
Main Rule Book page 37, left column under "Finalize Connections" it says, "For
each connection you make, you may gain one level in any skill, but you cannot
bring a skill above level 3 using this rule nor may you take the Jack of all
Trades skill."

OK does this mean you can't use a connection to increase Jack of all Trades in any way or you can't use a connecting to give yourself the skill if you don't already have it.

For example a character has Jack of all trades at level 1. Could he use a connection to raise it to level 2?

Thanks
Brian
 
I think that it means you cannot take the jack of all trades skill as a connection skill. Raising by a connection is bit a GM call, the skill is powerful, hence its restrictions on getting and increasing the skill. After all some one with JoT at 3 can make any skill roll they don't know with no unskilled penalty.
 
Old timer said:
Raising by a connection is bit a GM call,
And his GM said "No"... ;)

the skill is powerful, hence its restrictions on getting and increasing the skill. After all some one with JoT at 3 can make any skill roll they don't know with no unskilled penalty.

Totally agree.
 
Back
Top