Space Coyote
Mongoose
I'm trying to understand how the updated magic rules work.
1) The caster declares which spell he'll cast and if (and how much) he will overcharge it.
2) The target declares how many MPs he will use to resist. Since dodging requires a reaction, I guess this has to be declared before knowing if the caster actually manages to cast the spell.
3) Both roll their modified skills. Or perhaps first the caster has to make a simple roll to cast the spell, and then he makes another roll vs. the target resistance? I assume the former, but I'm not really sure.
OK, now what happens?
If only the caster succeeds while the target fails, fine. This is the easy case. The spell works at full strength.
If both fails, according to the general rule on opposed rolls, whoever rolled lower wins, but I guess this rule doesn't apply in this case. Actually, on rereading the update, it seems to me that this rule has been informally dropped.
If both succeeds, but the target obtains the higher roll, the spell fails. Even if the target dove for cover, which usually only halves the damage?
If both succeeds, but the caster obtains the higher roll, the spell works. However, the spell takes effect only at its base value; the additional
Magnitude of the spell is successfully resisted. Of course, overcharging has no effect on the magnitude of a spell. I guess this refers to the other two effects of overcharging, that is besides the penalty to the resistance roll which has already taken effect.
Thanks in advance for the help!
Cheers, Alex.
1) The caster declares which spell he'll cast and if (and how much) he will overcharge it.
2) The target declares how many MPs he will use to resist. Since dodging requires a reaction, I guess this has to be declared before knowing if the caster actually manages to cast the spell.
3) Both roll their modified skills. Or perhaps first the caster has to make a simple roll to cast the spell, and then he makes another roll vs. the target resistance? I assume the former, but I'm not really sure.
OK, now what happens?
If only the caster succeeds while the target fails, fine. This is the easy case. The spell works at full strength.
If both fails, according to the general rule on opposed rolls, whoever rolled lower wins, but I guess this rule doesn't apply in this case. Actually, on rereading the update, it seems to me that this rule has been informally dropped.
If both succeeds, but the target obtains the higher roll, the spell fails. Even if the target dove for cover, which usually only halves the damage?
If both succeeds, but the caster obtains the higher roll, the spell works. However, the spell takes effect only at its base value; the additional
Magnitude of the spell is successfully resisted. Of course, overcharging has no effect on the magnitude of a spell. I guess this refers to the other two effects of overcharging, that is besides the penalty to the resistance roll which has already taken effect.
Thanks in advance for the help!
Cheers, Alex.