Klaus Kipling
Mongoose
Can we get some official Mongoose clarification on the following rules in High Guard, please?
1. Barrages
2. Fixed mounts for small craft.
1. Barrages
According to the top of p74, HG, we are meant to notate a barrage attack thus:
Total dice of damage (weapon dice x no. of weapons) / weapon type / Individual Weapon Damage in dice.
Therefore 4x 50ton Fusion Gun Bays would be:
20 / fusion gun / 5
Further down p74 is this line of text: "Add up the protection offered by the defenses, and then subtract it from the individual weapon damage score to determine the final DM."
This implies that a barrage attack is rolled like this:
2d6 + Fire Control + Gunner Skill + Individual Weapon Damage Dice + any other bonuses - Range DM - Armour and other defenses - Dodge.
Is this so?
The example later does not do this. IE, it does not add the damage dice of the nuclear missile (2) to the barrage attack as a DM.
Without factoring in Individual Weapon Damage Dice, there is no real differentiation between weapons, in that only the total damage dice are figured. Also, it means high armour is invincible.
Can we get some more explicit clarification as to how the barrage attack is meant to be undertaken?
2. Fixed mounts
On p111 of TMB, it shows that fixed mounts do not require 1ton of fire control.
Yet on p61 of High Guard, it says each fixed mount requires 1ton of fire control, and then refers to p111 of TMB.
Which is correct, as they cannot both be?



1. Barrages
2. Fixed mounts for small craft.
1. Barrages
According to the top of p74, HG, we are meant to notate a barrage attack thus:
Total dice of damage (weapon dice x no. of weapons) / weapon type / Individual Weapon Damage in dice.
Therefore 4x 50ton Fusion Gun Bays would be:
20 / fusion gun / 5
Further down p74 is this line of text: "Add up the protection offered by the defenses, and then subtract it from the individual weapon damage score to determine the final DM."
This implies that a barrage attack is rolled like this:
2d6 + Fire Control + Gunner Skill + Individual Weapon Damage Dice + any other bonuses - Range DM - Armour and other defenses - Dodge.
Is this so?
The example later does not do this. IE, it does not add the damage dice of the nuclear missile (2) to the barrage attack as a DM.
Without factoring in Individual Weapon Damage Dice, there is no real differentiation between weapons, in that only the total damage dice are figured. Also, it means high armour is invincible.
Can we get some more explicit clarification as to how the barrage attack is meant to be undertaken?
2. Fixed mounts
On p111 of TMB, it shows that fixed mounts do not require 1ton of fire control.
Yet on p61 of High Guard, it says each fixed mount requires 1ton of fire control, and then refers to p111 of TMB.
Which is correct, as they cannot both be?


