Referee Tools

metlk

Banded Mongoose
I wasn't quite sure how to title this...

I've been messing around with Traveller for about six months now. I never thought I would find such enjoyment from a game system that truly is geared towards adventure and not just being a super-powerful hero. There's no local groups and I've not had the pleasure of playing with a group, so I've had to do double-duty as ref and player with my boys or alone (and I've never done any DMing before.) The core rulebook is okay for this, but our games got much better once I was able to start pulling information from other source materials and tools which a lot of people use for solo gaming. (Mainly an oracle system, a few house rules and a whole host of tables. I had to put in tremendous work to convert all of the fantasy stuff.) Much of the pressure of having to figure out everything is now left up to rolls during play. It's not as fast, but I get to live in the world, not direct it. As we smooth out the rough edges and add/remove tables and rolls to streamline the process, I've come to notice a trend in recent books which has me... nervous?

I've pulled a ton of material from Cepheus Engine and 1st Edition MGT, and sites which have a lot of information on classic Traveller. When it comes to 2nd edition, I've noticed the amount of content-generation in the books seems to be less and there is a much greater reliance on the Referee to "fill in" the story. Mercenary saw a large shift, and system generation from the Scout book to the 2nd edition Deep-Space Exploration Handbook was different. 1st book places planets according to roll results, 2nd book relies on the referee to decide where the zones are and what planets go where. It's a bit more vague. I want to get the World Builder book, but am a bit nervous to. There's other changes across what I've seen as well.