Quick brakiri grav shifters question

According to the rules as written I guess yes you could do that. But it's definitely against the intent of the rules, the turn is meant to be a violent action, not a precision lining up.
 
It depends on how exact you want to be about the boresight. Strictly speaking the model of the firing ship must be pointing exactly at the target ship's stem to use a boresight weapon. For convenience, most people allow that if the target can't do anything about it, usually because it has already moved, then you can just declare that you're boresighting it and point your ship so that it looks about right.

However, if someone is using a grav shifter to aim someone else's ship at another opponent's ship, just don't make it that easy. The grav-shifting player must turn the ship to point where he wants, and if he doesn't get it pointing exactly at the target, no boresight. :)
 
I agree that the rules make it appear that you could line the boresight on someone else, but by the spirit of it I can't agree. Say an Omega has declared a boresight on a Brakiri ship. That Omega is then moved but its targeting solution (which needs to be precise given relativistic phenomenon in space) is still assigned to the Brakiri ship. Therefore, while the Omega might be perfectly lined up, its target computer is still looking at the Brakiri and there would be no targeting of the new ship.

If you want to argue that these turned based rules are supposed to simulate real time play, thereby saying the the Omega is shifted while it is firing, then all ships within its range should be hit as it is moved. However, I would then argue that safeties on the Omega would terminate the beam, so as to not inadvertently hit a friendly. Either way, there remains no shot for the bore weapon.
 
Maybe so. But fluff really has little to do with the game itself. Half the ship descriptions in the fleet book would need to be rewritten otherwise.

You may as well say that a failed "Come About!" order means a ship can't fire because the computers have already been programmed to aim at targets on a 45 degree offset - or that Close Blast Doors! isn't needed as an order because any half-intelligent spacefaring race would have automated doors like current earth sea vessels have had for 100 years.

In the end it is just a tabletop game, and any ship can ues its boresight weapon against whatever ship happens to be directly in front of it when that ship's turn to fire comes around.

Gravitic shifters are inaccurate in fluff but highly accurate on the table.
 
I wasn't trying to explain it by fluff. The fluff was to illustrate that this, as in alot of rules debates with many games, is a matter of strict construction vs loose/living construction. But, I guess this might all a mute point in this case. Even if it is deamed legal that the GS can cause the target's bore weapon to bear on another target the question then becomes, "Does declaring a line-up on a bore shot mean that the weapon is committed to the attack?"
 
Good question. I guess that's for the players to decide since "Declaring" is a house rule. We also use it, though, primarily to avoid later arguments about the position of a ship. Too often a boresighted ship will get bumped by players while moving other stuff.

I think it is only a notification to other players that a ship is pointed directly at another ship. It isn't a "Concentrate Firepower!" special action.

Again, this is just our local play group. Your mileage (or kilometer-age) may vary. :)
 
treknogeek said:
Even if it is deamed legal that the GS can cause the target's bore weapon to bear on another target the question then becomes, "Does declaring a line-up on a bore shot mean that the weapon is committed to the attack?"
Why would it? All it means is that the target is now in the ship's boresight arc and may be attacked if the ship's owner wishes to do so. Likewise, after the ship has been turned, it has a new target in its forward arc, but no forward weapons are committed to firing at it. Grav shifters give you control over the other ship's heading, not its fire button. :)

Even if you declare a boresight with your own ship during the movement phase, you are not required to use your boresight weapon against that target. You have simply moved your ship so that the target is in arc and you can attack it during the firing phase if you want.

Besides, if using a grav shifter to line up a boresight did commit the ship to firing its boresight weapon, consider the implications for a Drazi ship with a slow loading solar cannon...
 
oh for goodness sake, it's a game, the rules alow you to change a ships heading, if that ship hasn't fired, their isn't a single thing in the rules that stops it firing at any alternate ship it can target.

yup intent is one thing, but you get the "rules as written" quoted often enough. It's no different than the accidental ass boresight, you didn't line it up on purpose, you didn't declare it, but, wait a minute, I AM lined up, wow, lets shoot...
 
Back
Top