Questions

Garthim

Mongoose
Got some quick questions. Does adaptive armour for a vessel also half the damage from criticals? Also, if an opponent declares he is firing all his ships weapon systems at a vessel, but after firing only a few destroys the target vessel, would he still be able to pick new targets for the remaining weapon systems or would they be discounted since he already declared his target? Thanks.
 
Hello,

1). Adaptive Armor does half all damage as far as I know

2.) All weapons who are declared fire againt that target. I f more weapons hit hthen the ship has damage points the chance increases that the ship will explode, so it takes damage from alle weapons declared against it.
 
Tolwyn said:
Hello,

1). Adaptive Armor does half all damage as far as I know

2.) All weapons who are declared fire againt that target. If more weapons hit hthen the ship has damage points the chance increases that the ship will explode, so it takes damage from alle weapons declared against it.
These answers are correct. An additional point about adaptive armour is that you total all of the bulkhead, solid hit and critical damage points before halving the total.
 
I presented the information to my gaming group, but they request citation from the current rulebook or a faq/errata.
 
Garthim said:
I presented the information to my gaming group, but they request citation from the current rulebook or a faq/errata.

They're picky aren't they?

Well on Adaptive Armour, nowhere in the rules does it say that Critical Damage isn't halved.

If you want absolute confirmation email Matthew Sprange at msprange@mongoosepublishing.com and show them his reply. Since he owns the company and wrote the game that should be enough for them.

Mind you, in the heat of tournaments he is known to change his mind, but what Triggy says above is correct.

LBH
Semi-official rules lawyer
 
Adaptive Armour says it halves all damage caused by each weapon system. Critical damage is caused by a weapon system, right??
 
That was my thought as well. But several members of the group raised the arguement that crit damage would be stuff blowing up or going crazy from within the vessel, and since adaptive armour would be only on the outside of the ship, that it would not help against crit effects.

Same thing with my other question. We discussed that if you order all weapons to fire at a vessel, that after you have fired everything, the shots that happen to get there first finished off the ship and the rest would be discounted cause they would go flying into space.

So we are at a lose trying to figure out what to do.
 
Remember, although you roll them sequentially, all the weapons are realistically fired simultaneously (with the minor abstraction exception of which weapons you fire first to wear down ints or shields,) so by the time you blow up the target you've already fired everything at it.

LBH
 
Here's your citation, from page 8:

Once a ship has been nominated to fire, the player follows this process
. Nominate targets for each weapon in each fire arc
. Check ranges
. Resolve firing and damage

At no point does it allow changing targets.

Add, to this, from page 10:

Note, you must roll for all attacks declared on a ship before rolling on the Damage Table – even if you do not want it to explode!
 
To add to Greg's excellent citations, a note that this also means all squadron's declared fire must be resolved. When you activate a squadron in the firing phase, you declare all attacks from all ships, and you must fire them all before making any explosion rolls. If one squadron member destroys the target, you cannot change targets for the subsequent squadron members.
 
I wrote to Matt and got the verdict on the questions.

Does adaptive armour for a vessel also half the damage from the
effects of a critcal?

It does.


If an opponent declares he is firing all his ships weapon systems at
a vessel, but after firing only a few destroys the target vessel, would he still be able to pick new targets for the remaining weapon systems or
would they be discounted since he already declared his target?

He has already declared his target, and cannot change!

Thanks for everyones help and input. Much appreciated :D
 
Back
Top