Question regarding charging buildings

Toru

Mongoose
I am not sure if I get the rules for charging buildings correct.

I make the charge action and since my enemy is in cover he can react before my cc attacks is rolled. If I take a hit that kills I have to retreas 1" and is out of "leathal range" so no cc attacks are made. Correct? this makes it very hard for a single unit to actually get any attacks in at all. Or have I read the rules wrong?
 
not quite, the defender gets their shooting action (one shooter per firing point - window/door etc) then the attacker and defender roll their CC dice (again, one model per firing point on each side). If the attacker kills more models than they loose then they're in the building and you resolve the combat as simultaneous shooting or assault actions until one unit is wiped out. Push back rules don't apply in buildings, the rest of the attacking unit can move in during these subsequent assault actions.
If the attacker fais to kill more defenders in the initial attack then their action end with them outside the building.

with the reaction rules (pg25) I read that as the attacker would get to complete their assault action before any push back occured, but as you're assaulting a building, push back doesn't apply - check out pg 34 'structures'.

cheers
 
from the way that the Reaction section is worded I assumed that the reaction is taken 'mid assault' so the attacker gets to complete his assault action before any push back. though, if the defender is in a structure and the attacker manages to kill more models in assault than the defender, the attacker gets into the building and push back rules are suspended whilst the simultaneous assaults are worked out.
 
If the defender already made a reaction prior to the charge Does he only get to fight in close combat and the attacker(chargers) gets first attack?
 
Back
Top