Preview Card Clarifications

darklord4

Mongoose
Just wanted to understand how the firecracker works. What does "the first model" mean? Is that the closest model in the firezone? Do I roll 2D6 against that model, then 2D6 that can affect models within 3" of that first one? thus I might affect 2 more models beyond the first.

How have people been playing these?
 
Where did you get this, "first model" thing from?

All that the firecracker does is like any evo explosive weapon. Roll 2xD6 against the model its damage die is assigned to, and roll 2xd6 against every other models within 3" of it.

To be clear, that's 2xd6 against everything within 3" not 2xd6 distributed between.

So in essensce everything affected by the firecracker takes a 2xd6 hit.
 
Turtle said:
Where did you get this, "first model" thing from?

I would imagine from the allocation of DD rule, that you start with the highest rolled DD and allocate that and work backwards. This means if you roll 6 morita shots and score 5,5,3,3,2,2 and one Javeline that rolls a 6,4 then the cloest model is allocated the 6, the firing player has no choice in this. The 2nd DD also gets allocated against the same model.

If the Jav also rolls a 5,4 then its up to the shooting player which of the 3 closest models to allocate the 1st fire cracker DD to, again the 2nd FC shot gets allocated to the same model.

Not sure about when you allocate the extra DD from the FC's explosion. I think when its fired by the LAMI it doesn't matter as it only has a 3" FZ itself, but it could make a difference when fired by PAMI or other units that have the normal 6" FZ. I am sure this has been discussed on the BF: Evo forum but can't find the thread (as its even more relevant to grenades and their 1" FZ)
 
Turtle said:
Where did you get this, "first model" thing from?

SST LAMI Preview Card said:
The Firecracker will roll both Damage Dice against the same model and roll bonus Damage Dice (2xD6) against every other model within 3" of the first model - these extra models need not be in Line of Sight.

If I understand the Evo Rules, you allocate highest damage rolled to the closest model in the firezone. Usually, this will be the firecracker's 2D6 (unless of course I am rolling). Then I would guess you would resolve the 3" 'explosion' based on this first guy. This 3" zone works like a firezone correct? So any models completely or partially within 3" of the center of the blowing-up guy get hit with 2D6 each.

The holepunch allows choosing a specific big target.
 
darklord4 said:
SST LAMI Preview Card said:
The Firecracker will roll both Damage Dice against the same model and roll bonus Damage Dice (2xD6) against every other model within 3" of the first model - these extra models need not be in Line of Sight.

If I understand the Evo Rules, you allocate highest damage rolled to the closest model in the firezone. Usually, this will be the firecracker's 2D6 (unless of course I am rolling). Then I would guess you would resolve the 3" 'explosion' based on this first guy. This 3" zone works like a firezone correct? So any models completely or partially within 3" of the center of the blowing-up guy get hit with 2D6 each.

The holepunch allows choosing a specific big target.

Clarification: It says to roll both Damage Dice against the same model, but it doesn't say to add them. I assumed this meant that those dice were rolled and allocated normally, except the lower die would automatically be applied to the same target as the higher die. (Base Firecracker damage is listed as 2xD6, which supports this idea.) So Cordas' scenario of getting to pick from a few targets is still reasonably likely.
 
Back
Top