gamesmeister said:Rurik said:gamesmeister said:I've already said this, but I'll say it again - there is nothing that states this to be true, either in the rules or in CoG. No-one from Mongoose has posted that this is the case, Jeff never intended for it to be handled that way, and in fact it causes far more problems than it solves, so why is it even being considered?
It is stated in the Companion and the Companion SRD. It is under the section Spell Traits and Descriptions, under the sub heading Cult (p. 13 of the book and p. 6 of the SRD). Also, if it does not work this way, then Gloranthan gods have no access to any of the spells in the Companion - nope, no Sunspear.
While I agree with most things you say Rurik, I don't agree with this interpretation.
I know the section you're referring to, it states that (and I'll quote now) "If the cult is listed as 'All', the spell is a utility spell available in all cults." It then goes on to state that it's up to the GM to determine what other spells are available to each cult.
These spells listed as 'All' are the only ones I can find that indicate they are 'common' divine magic. There's nothing that states that other divine magic spells listed in the Companion are common, and indeed by the very fact that they only apply to certain cult types, they're not.
And Sunspear is an excellent example: it is listed as being given to Yelmalions by Yelm, but only to Light Priests and Light Sons - yet Yelmalio has access to all common divine spells. By your interpretation, this is completely pointless. Of course, the problem there is that Yelm isn't listed as having access to Sunspear, and should be errata'd to include it, but I'm fairly certain this was mentioned earlier.
Really, I think we are 99% on the same page, which is that determining what gods get what spells is way more confusing than it should be. It is just this one sticking point.
The full passage is: "The type of cult that offers this spell to its worshippers. If the cult is listed as ‘All’, the spell is a utility spell available in all cults." CoG has specific types listed for most gods that correspond to the spell types in ths Companion.
Regarding Sunspear, another bit supporting my take is that I am pretty sure if you look NO spell listed in the Companion is listed for ANY god in Cults. Note that Yelmalio doesn't have Sunspear listed either - even though Yelm is listed as giving it to him. I believe he has it already as a Sun god, and so then the bit in Yelm does not make sense. This is an example of how the editing muddled the book a bit. Zorak Zoran doesn't get Beserk either, unless he gets it by nature of being Type: War.
I am pretty sure Voriof has more or less confirmed they decided to use god types in Cults even though he was against it.