port/starboard torpedoes rule book question

Jack Tar

Mongoose
In the rule book some ships have torpedoes listed as port/starboard torpedoes instead of separate entries for both port and starboard.

Does this mean they only have the one set of torpedoes, or is there meant to be a set for both port and starboard?
 
Jack Tar said:
In the rule book some ships have torpedoes listed as port/starboard torpedoes instead of separate entries for both port and starboard.

Does this mean they only have the one set of torpedoes, or is there meant to be a set for both port and starboard?

When you see this, think of the torpedo mount as being on a centerline position. So in your own words, "they only have the one set", unless that mount has reloads (but that is a different matter of course). :)
 
Excellent! many thanks for the answer - i am making some stat sheets in htm format to use whilst playing and wasn't sure on that point. :D
 
No problem at all. :D

If you look on page two of the original VaS rules, you can see how similar they are to a "Q" gun turret arc. While that makes sense once you consider that a trainable centerline torpedo mount is indeed similar to a midships gun turret, the rules really did not say that specifically. I'd give the game designers a "pass" though, because even that might not be accurate all of the time. If the torpedo mount was not blocked by the aft superstructure, it might have an Aft arc. This would give it Port, Starboard and Aft as allowable arcs. For the vast majority of cases though, you sure could think of "Q" as a helper. :D
 
Back
Top