Multifire Trait and Coaxial MG

Bede

Mongoose
If you use the coaxial mg to get the +1 bonus to a to hit die roll for a tank main gun, does that count as firing a weapon (I mean the coaxial mg) for purposes of the multihit rule?

For example, if the tank is multifire/2 could it fire its main gun, the coaxial mg assisting and a hull mg?

Or could it just fire the main gun and either the coaxial mg or the hull mg?

Thanks.
 
I asked this a while back and tanks (except the churchill - issue still to be resolved!) can only fire 2 guns, so while the co-ax and main gun fire, your dedicated hull gunner cannot fire his :? Also, when the co-ax fires to assist the main gun, does it still roll its own damage dice?
 
The +1 does not count as an additional weapon firing. It was practice for gunners to use the coax as an aiming device for the main gun, hence the +1 when in mg range.
You can't fire all three weapons, you have to choose two.
 
n815e said:
The +1 does not count as an additional weapon firing. It was practice for gunners to use the coax as an aiming device for the main gun, hence the +1 when in mg range.
You can't fire all three weapons, you have to choose two.
Thats not what was said in an earlier thread as an official answer. Tank gun + Co-ax = 2 guns firing.
 
Upon re-reading the Co-Axial rules, they don't say that the co-axial machine gun has to fire to get the +1, just that if the main gun's FZ is placed within range of the co-axial MG, the main gun gets a +1. But I think the point here is that both MG's cannot fire if the main gun does.
 
But to lay down the MG's FZ, doesn't it have to fire? - can't check now, lent rules out. Either way, why should it stop a dedicated hull gunner from shooting to?
 
Back
Top