more rules question

xbowmen

Mongoose
Last Wednesday we played another game of Bf Evo. and some questions were produce during the game.

Q1) I'm sure this must have been ask before but i need to ask it again. If your unit is using QBZ95 rifle, (range 20",) and you place the center of the fire zone marker at 20", does any figures beyond 20" in the fire zone and is subject to be target or kill?

Q2) if a Fedeyeen charge a tank within 5" of its first action,according to the rules close combat is resolve. (I take it that close is only one round of dice rolls.) Can the tank then reacted by moving before the Fedeyeen can place their charge or does reaction take place before the first close combat? On the Fedayeen card its states that a riflemen may place IED with a charge action sooooooo does that mean that placing an IED does not require an Ready action?

I hope you guys can answer these questions. Thanks
Den
 
xbowmen said:
Last Wednesday we played another game of Bf Evo. and some questions were produce during the game.

Q1) I'm sure this must have been ask before but i need to ask it again. If your unit is using QBZ95 rifle, (range 20",) and you place the center of the fire zone marker at 20", does any figures beyond 20" in the fire zone and is subject to be target or kill?

Yes, if you place the centre of the fire zone at 20", it stretches 6" beyond that

Q2) if a Fedeyeen charge a tank within 5" of its first action,according to the rules close combat is resolve. (I take it that close is only one round of dice rolls.) Can the tank then reacted by moving before the Fedeyeen can place their charge or does reaction take place before the first close combat? On the Fedayeen card its states that a riflemen may place IED with a charge action sooooooo does that mean that placing an IED does not require an Ready action?

Tanks can't move as a reaction - it's in the "armoured" rule on the appropriate stat card

If a unit takes a charge action, the target can react if they're in cover BETWEEN the attacker's movement and them making their close assault roles/planting the IEDs if they're Feds - at this point a tank could fire its' MGs and hope to kill the Fed riflemen.

If the charge target is in the open, they can react after the charge is complete.
 
Lorcan Nagle said:
xbowmen said:
If your unit is using QBZ95 rifle, (range 20",) and you place the center of the fire zone marker at 20", does any figures beyond 20" in the fire zone and is subject to be target or kill?

Yes, if you place the centre of the fire zone at 20", it stretches 6" beyond that

Um, wouldn't it be that it stretches three inches beyond that? If you place the center of the Fire Zone at 20", the radius is 3", not 6". Six inches of course is the diameter of the Fire Zone, so you get a total of 23" for maximum range. You cannot place the Fire Zone center beyond the maximum range of the weapon. :)
 
Do I get a chance to edit that last message and go into complete denial? :lol: Yeah, my mind was "stuck" on a 6" circle, and I should have simply looked at the rules sheet before offering up any help. This of course happens when I don't get a chance to actually play the game and have just been collecting the pieces for the game system, heh. So, it's a six-inch radius and a twelve-inch diameter. You're little nudge will probably be a better reminder to me than reading the "rules as written", lol. Thanks for the correction, kind sir. :wink: At least no one reading this will make the mistake to think that they get to add 12" to their weapons range, heh. :lol: It's funny, as I've always corrected friends for confusing radius with diameter. I'll claim Dementia, if it's any defense. :lol:
 
lastbesthope said:
BuShips said:
Do I get a chance to edit that last message and go into complete denial? :lol:

Our survey says.....

NO!

:lol:

LBH

Anticipating your answer, I have travelled back in time and made a mass purchase of the novel "Visions of Peace" and had them all signed by the author. He said he didn't have the time as he was a busy man, but after I explained the reason and offered him the use of my time machine to give him a method of actually gaining time on his schedule, he agreed. Have a nice day. :wink:

:lol: :lol: :lol:
 
So you all agree that a Fedeyeen unit make a charge move at a tank , resolve close combat, those riflemen that survive then place IED on the tank RIGHT?
Den
 
lastbesthope said:
The weird thing is I just cross referencerd in the novels thread to back here as well :lol:

We really should let it lie now.

LBH

You have to admit, it was pretty fun (for both of us). BTW, it's the 'e-mail notify' feature that makes it so easy to have multi-thread conversations. It's just that the others reading them only get half of the joke. :wink: Just to let you know how far I had that 6" circle caught in my head, I had some templates (6" brass rings) that I had used for SST that I was thinking of using for BFE, but alas now I have to find a clear 12" salad bowl, heh. :lol:
 
Let me see if I can help you with your questions: Here are the text you should be looking at. I'll use a Abrams MBT as the example along with the Fedayeen attacking it.

1.Fedayeen are within 5" of the Abrams and use a Charge action to move to touch the Abrams with 3 riflemen.

Rule:IED: Every rifleman in this unit is also equipped with high powered IED charges. These may be placed on any model size 2 or more with a Charge action.

The Tank MAY make a reaction before the infantrymen finish planting the IEDs.

Rule: Armored: The Abrams may never make any reactions except to shoot with one Mg and the M2.

This take place before the IED is planted and only IF the tank is in cover. Reason.Rule Sheet, Reactions: If a unit is in cover and is reactiong to a charge action, it may make the Reaction after the target has moved but before any CC dice are rolled.

The riflemen are planting IEDs instead of CC the Tank.

That is my take on it, and follows the rules as written, I'm sure some may disagree, but I don't really care and will continue to play it that way.
 
With respects to OS the 2nd paragraph under Charge Action states, "When a charge action is made, you move your models up to their Move score towards the enemy unit. If you succeed in touching an enemy model withone of yours, they immediately fight in close combat. " So I assume that Close Action is resolve first before IED is place. Plus planting a bomb is a ready action, even though the Fedeyeen card does not state it so. So once again I asked, when Fedeyeen place a bomb on a target is it an action per the rules or part of the charge per the cards?
Den
 
Nekomata said:
From what I got from it, placing the bomb is the close combat, so placing the bomb would go first.

No, read your rule sheet under Reaction, next to last paragraph.

I'll quote it again. If a unit is in cover and is reacting to a Charge Action, it may make the Reaction after the target has moved, but before any Close Comabat dice are rolled.

You, yourself just said placing the bomb IS the close combat, so then the above rule will apply.

To exbowman:I have no idea where you got the idea that there is a ready action to place the IED. All you have to do is use the Charge action to plant them. Since the Reaction rule clearly states before CC the unit can fire on the models charging them, it would also apply to the Fedayeen riflemen.
 
Sorry, that's what I meant. My mind has a bad habit of skipping details, makes editing my stories interesting to say the least. :oops:
 
xbowmen said:
With respects to OS the 2nd paragraph under Charge Action states, "When a charge action is made, you move your models up to their Move score towards the enemy unit. If you succeed in touching an enemy model withone of yours, they immediately fight in close combat. " So I assume that Close Action is resolve first before IED is place. Plus planting a bomb is a ready action, even though the Fedeyeen card does not state it so. So once again I asked, when Fedeyeen place a bomb on a target is it an action per the rules or part of the charge per the cards?
Den

Placing the IED is the CC attack of the feds, the tank does not gain any CC attacks as it has not charged the feds.

I assume you are thinking CC works somewhat similar to assault in 40k where both sides get a chance to fight. This is not the case, a charged unit can react, if it hasn't already reacted....
If it has not already used its 1 reaction and is in cover it can make its reaction before the CC attacks are resolved (the only reaction it can make is shoot (if not already suppressed) or move as in run away).
If it is not in cover then the charge action is carried out (CC Dice rolled, IEDs placed and figures moved apart 2") then the unit may react by shooting (assuming its not suppressed) or moving (note you can't charge as a reaction unless the unit has a special rule that allows it to such as warriors in SST:Evo).

If the unit has already reacted then it can do nothing, until its next turn.
 
Back
Top