Long Lance Torps and Subs

Swan

Mongoose
Forgive me if this has been covered, I did a search and could not find anything on this question.

The Japanes player is over 10" from a surfaced sub. He fires a long lance torpedo at the sub. On the next turn the owner of the submarine submerges. What happens to the torpedo? Does it still hit or does the act of submerging negate the torpedo attack?
 
So what happens if a long lance was fired at a target that was over 10" away and then next turn moves to over 20" away?

Is this also no longer a valid target as its over 20" and out of range?????
 
juggler69uk said:
So what happens if a long lance was fired at a target that was over 10" away and then next turn moves to over 20" away?

Is this also no longer a valid target as its over 20" and out of range?????

Well this one I did find the answer for in the forums and it was ruled that if the ship was a valid target when the torpedo was fired, it does not matter if it moves out of range on the next turn, it is still a valid target and gets hit. That ruling created part of my confusion about what to do with the Submerged sub.
 
Swan said:
juggler69uk said:
So what happens if a long lance was fired at a target that was over 10" away and then next turn moves to over 20" away?

Is this also no longer a valid target as its over 20" and out of range?????

Well this one I did find the answer for in the forums and it was ruled that if the ship was a valid target when the torpedo was fired, it does not matter if it moves out of range on the next turn, it is still a valid target and gets hit. That ruling created part of my confusion about what to do with the Submerged sub.

This was why I re-asked the question here, Why is the Sub diving no longer a valid target if a ship moving out of range is

Matt since the torp marker is placed in the first turn why the difference?
 
Because I _think_ I am right in saying that in WWII only one submerged sub was hit by an enemy torpedo - making it a freak event that I do not think we need to model in the game.
 
msprange said:
Because I _think_ I am right in saying that in WWII only one submerged sub was hit by an enemy torpedo - making it a freak event that I do not think we need to model in the game.

I would agree if the sub was already submerged, no valid target.

But if it was on the surface it is a target, the same as a Ship, So wheres the difference between moving out of range and submerging, both would make a torp target effectively invalid at the end of the second turn.

I think maybe one possible action That could save it is to crash dive in the first turn (before the marker is placed) which needs a command test, but once the marker is placed (like the ship moving out of range ) it stays with the sub
 
Matt

As we were not trying to model targetting an already submerged sub, and I guess your having read the other other comments, I take it since you have not added anything, that your answer is still no target then ?
 
Back
Top