Rockymountainnavy
Mongoose
Reference: “Boon and Bane,” p. 59; “Combat - Initiative - Ambushes,” p. 70; “The Combat Round,” p. 70
Discussion: “Ambushes” on p. 70 states, “If one side is aware of the presence of the other but the other is unaware they are nearby, then an ambush has taken place. The side that is aware combat is about to begin gains a Boon to its Initiative checks. The side that is not aware it is about to be attacked receives a Bane to its Initiative check.” This can lead to situations where the “ambushed” party has higher initiative and could attack first using the RAW.
Example 1: Traveller, UPP 777777, is ambushed by Mook, UPP 777555. Rolling Initiative, Traveller rolls 3D6 (Low) whereas Mook rolls 3D6 (High). In this straight dice-off, there is a near-equal chance of the “ambushed” party getting a higher initiative. Assume Traveller has higher Initiative. In first round, Traveller goes first and gets one Significant Action and one Minor Action. Does this mean Traveller could attack Mook?
Desired Action: Explicitly state that the ambushed party gets no actions in the first combat round regardless of Initiative score. I know; this should be a no-brainer for a Referee, but I have seen too many rules-lawyers to be comfortable leaving it as written.
Discussion: “Ambushes” on p. 70 states, “If one side is aware of the presence of the other but the other is unaware they are nearby, then an ambush has taken place. The side that is aware combat is about to begin gains a Boon to its Initiative checks. The side that is not aware it is about to be attacked receives a Bane to its Initiative check.” This can lead to situations where the “ambushed” party has higher initiative and could attack first using the RAW.
Example 1: Traveller, UPP 777777, is ambushed by Mook, UPP 777555. Rolling Initiative, Traveller rolls 3D6 (Low) whereas Mook rolls 3D6 (High). In this straight dice-off, there is a near-equal chance of the “ambushed” party getting a higher initiative. Assume Traveller has higher Initiative. In first round, Traveller goes first and gets one Significant Action and one Minor Action. Does this mean Traveller could attack Mook?
Desired Action: Explicitly state that the ambushed party gets no actions in the first combat round regardless of Initiative score. I know; this should be a no-brainer for a Referee, but I have seen too many rules-lawyers to be comfortable leaving it as written.