fuzzilogik
Mongoose
Once a breaching pod has latched onto the hull of a ship, can it be fired on by emines? The 2e rules state,
"Once a breaching pod has survived any Anti-Fighter defences and is in base contact with the targeted ship it may not be shot at by any other weapons from either the target or another ship as the breaching pod will have clamped onto the ship's hull."
Now...that seems pretty darn clear to me, but my friend argued that the emines are not targeting the breaching pod and that the breaching pods should still be susceptible to area damage. I argued that the breaching pods are no longer individual targets because they are now effectively part of the target ship's hull (and in these rules we aren't rolling to see what part of the hull is being hit). I told him I would post the question to get opinions.
Thanks!
Fuzzi
"Once a breaching pod has survived any Anti-Fighter defences and is in base contact with the targeted ship it may not be shot at by any other weapons from either the target or another ship as the breaching pod will have clamped onto the ship's hull."
Now...that seems pretty darn clear to me, but my friend argued that the emines are not targeting the breaching pod and that the breaching pods should still be susceptible to area damage. I argued that the breaching pods are no longer individual targets because they are now effectively part of the target ship's hull (and in these rules we aren't rolling to see what part of the hull is being hit). I told him I would post the question to get opinions.
Thanks!
Fuzzi