Drahk GEG

Kosh127

Mongoose
An official answere only please!!!!!

How does this work?
GEG
"the total amount of damage and crew deducted from the ship by each separate weapon attacking it is reduced by the GEG. Damage and any special effects from critical hits however, are never reduced by the GEG." pg.18


attack table
"6. Critical hit: as a solid hit but also roll on the systems table"
pg8

Example: Attacking a ship with a GEG of 2, you get 2 points of damage. You roll a 6 on the attack table.

I can take this 2 ways:

1.) the ship takes 2 points of damage and then any more damage and crew plus effects from the crit

2.) You take 0 points of damage as it is a solid hit per the wording of the attack table. and then you take any damage and crew plus effects from the crit as normal.
 
There has already been an official answer on this, it is (1). The table is badly worded; the damage done is "as solid hit", but the hit is still a critical hit, so the GEG cannot absorb it. It would be much more clear for the table to just say -1 damage, -1 crew...

http://www.mongoosepublishing.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=21461

Yeah I know that is 1e, but none of the wording changed in 2e, so no reason to think it works any different.
 
Matt can we have an answer to this please. I know the answer in 1st edition, but the wording wasn't changed and clarified in 2nd ed. So for the sake of clarity can you let us know. thanks
 
Because this isn't first edition for starters. Because rulings have been known to change at the drop of a hat. Because Matt sent a response via PM to a mate explaining the rule in such a way that it appears that only the damage caused by the crit roll on the table counts and not the damage caused by the dice roll of 6. So I am asking for an official ruling that isn't via a PM.
 
matt makes rulings up sometimes and if he PMs them he can send differant rulings to differant people about the same thing. its only if he posts here and you point him to it he sticks with things :D

I agree with burgers interpretation on this one (even though i didnt at time of linked thread).
 
I agree with the ruling given by Brian in Burger's link but that's for first ed and not good enough if Matt is sending PMs that contradict that.

Matt can I have an official response please, my group are tired of arguing over this one.
 
Right Hand of God said:
So just to clarify,

the normal 1 Damage 1 crew caused by a hit is not stopped by GEG if it is a critical hit.

Sorry to keep on

Correct (as I understand it) and it's OK we forgive you.

LBH
 
Back
Top