Dirty Grapple


Variant rule for the Ruffian (Thief/Barbarian) from Hyboria's Fallen. It says:

"By winning an opposed grapple attempt"

Does this refer to grapple step 2: grab, or grapple step 3: hold?

The confussion lays here: the grapple attempt is made in step 2. The opposed check in the grapple sequence is made in step 3.
Step 2 is a melee touch attack not an opposed grapple attempt.

Only if the melee touch attack in step 2 is successful do we go to step 3 which is the "Opposed" Grapple attempt.
When you win a standard opposed grapple check you deal damage.

When you win the dirty grapple check do you deal the damage as well as stunning the opponent?