Crippled & Engine Criticals.

Oly

Mongoose
Do the effects of being crippled stack with engine criticals?

For example if Prince of Wales, speed 5", is crippled then it's speed drops by 50% to 2.5".

What happens if it also has damaged props?

I've been playing it that the 50% takes effect first and then any speed reduction. Thus Prince of Wales would have a speed of 0.5".

However is it meant to be the other way? Damage to speed first and then the halving? Thus Prince of Wales has it's speed dropped to 3" and then halved to 1.5".
 
Oly said:
Do the effects of being crippled stack with engine criticals?

For example if Prince of Wales, speed 5", is crippled then it's speed drops by 50% to 2.5".

What happens if it also has damaged props?

I've been playing it that the 50% takes effect first and then any speed reduction. Thus Prince of Wales would have a speed of 0.5".

However is it meant to be the other way? Damage to speed first and then the halving? Thus Prince of Wales has it's speed dropped to 3" and then halved to 1.5".

We do the later. Drop the speed and then halve it. So 1.5" would be correct.
 
I have only played it once but I read the rule as jamos describes it. Crippled is permanent so this is the new speed of the ship so any Temp reductions are taken from the new max speed.
 
Burger said:
Multiplication/division come before addition/subtraction. So halve it then subtract the minuses.

Doesn't see this in the rules ( but I haven't them yet :P ), and if you speak of the the math rules it cannot be used here since target and position of operator are not clearly defined.

If critical is worded as in ACTA there no question : on a critical only the highest penalty is applied, on crippled the Speed score is permanently halved. The temporary effect of the critical is applied on the permanently reduced speed score, the other way mean that critical speed effect is halved on cripled ship witch is never suggested.
It's look supid ( IMHO ) only because fixed number of speed loss for a wide range of speed look stupid.
 
ACTA: Armageddon explicitly states that multiplication/division is done before addition/subtraction. I know that ACTA != VAS and just because it works one way for ACTA doesn't necessarily mean it works the same in VAS; but in this case, and since it is not specified for VAS< I think the same logic can be used.
 
Back
Top