[CONAN] Optional Weapon Length Rule

If a one-handed weapon is used two-handed, as with a broadsword, it's still considered a one-handed weapon with regard to the optional Weapon Length Rule, correct?
 
Another question about this rule: Let's say a Soldier is using a war sword gainst a Barbarian that wields a hammer in one hand and a dirk in the other.

Looking at the Weapon Length Rule, the Soldier is +1 Parry vs. the Hammer and +2 Parry vs. the dirk.

Do you just change the modifier depending on which weapon is being used to attack? Or, do you go with one or the other for all attacks?

I'm leaning to using the individual modifiers depending on the attack weapon.







And when the Soldier attacks the two-weapon wielding Barbarian, which modifier is used to Parry the Soldiers attack? The Hammer is -1 Parry vs. the Soldier, and the dirk is -2 Parry vs. the Soldier's war sword. Which modifier do you use? The worst or the best?

I'm leaning towards using the best defense option for the defender. In this case, the -1 Parry would be used on all strikes.
 
It is still a one handed weapon. Believe it or not but you have less reach with something you hold in two hands than with just one.

M.
 
Cheomesh said:
It is still a one handed weapon. Believe it or not but you have less reach with something you hold in two hands than with just one.

M.

But the question is: If a defender uses a light weapon in one hand, and a one-handed weapon in the other. And, the attacker uses a two-handed weapon, then which penalty does the defender use on his Parry when the attacker attacks? -1 Parry or -2 Parry?
 
The best one I'd figure. For added randomness you could roll a d4 - even is a parry with the main hand, odd with the off hand.

M.
 
Back
Top