HalfOrc HalfBiscuit
Mongoose
On p 92 under the"Weapon Reach" heading - specifically the last para of the the "Closing" subheading - the text reads:
"Once within the reach of the opponent's weapon, the advantage switches to the wielder of the shorter weapon. The opponent now cannot parry until he reopens the distance."
I read this as implying that the opponent (with the longer weapon) can still attack - and at no apparent penalty.
Is this the intention of the rule?
If so, I find it odd - I can more easily visualise a fighter with, say, a halberd being able to defend against an enemy who has got inside his reach (albeit perhaps at a penalty) by using the haft of the weapon to block attacks, than being able to attack himself.
So am I reading things wrong, or just visualising wrong?
"Once within the reach of the opponent's weapon, the advantage switches to the wielder of the shorter weapon. The opponent now cannot parry until he reopens the distance."
I read this as implying that the opponent (with the longer weapon) can still attack - and at no apparent penalty.
Is this the intention of the rule?
If so, I find it odd - I can more easily visualise a fighter with, say, a halberd being able to defend against an enemy who has got inside his reach (albeit perhaps at a penalty) by using the haft of the weapon to block attacks, than being able to attack himself.
So am I reading things wrong, or just visualising wrong?