Chicken or the Egg Crit Sequence Question.

Shadow4ce

Mongoose
Not sure if this really belongs in "The Rulesmasters" section or here, but I figure a preponderance or majority of opinions here will suffice unless the responses are split.

Okay, this came up in a demo this last Saturday.

When the Critical Hit "Vital Systems - Bridge Hit" is achieved, you lose your ability to perform Special Actions.

What happens to Special Actions already rolled for, which the action has taken effect, but the results of the action have not?

Special Actions are rolled for in the movement phase. Not all of them are resolved until after the Firing phase, which is where crits happen.

Specific example and how we handled it after much discussion, and one very frustrated lady at the table...

At the start of the movement phase, the Captain of the IJN Yamato successfully ordered "All Hands on Deck!" Later, in the firing phase, the Yamato suffered the above mentioned critical hit. Then, during the End Phase, the Japanese player rolled to repair a system and got a 4, which since we were playing with crew quality 4 is not enough to repair the system without the added +1 from the "All Hands on Deck!" Special Action.

This is where the discussion began to resemble an argument. The player in charge of the USS Missouri felt the bonus was destroyed by the crit hit. The Captain of the USS North Carolina, (the first player's partner and oldest daughter), agreed with the Captain of the Yamato, and felt the repair roll should benefit from the "already rolled for" Special Action. Her other daughter, Captain of the already sunk IJN Kongo, and I attempted to find a definitive answer in the rulebook.

Our resolution was, the Japanese could complete the "All Hands on Deck!" special action already rolled for this turn, but would be unable to roll for any more in the future.

We did this for 2 reasons...
  1. The rulebook seems to support this sequence...
    VaS Rulebook said:
    When a ship is nominated to move, a player can also choose to perform a Special Action.

    A Special Action must be chosen and attempted before the ship begins to move.

    A Command check is performed by rolling 1d6 and adding the ship's Command score. If the total matches that listed in the Special Action's description, the action is successful.
  2. The Yamato announced, and successfully completed the Command check for the "All Hands on Deck!" Special Action prior to the crit hit. The action, basically began in the Movement Phase, and the results of their extra efforts would be felt in the End Phase. Thus representing the men in rl would have already been geared up for damage control, or "on deck" as it were.

Well, what do you folks think? Does the chicken come first, or does the egg?

In other words, do I owe the lady who lost her beloved USS Missouri to the Yamato on the next turn an apology? Or did we get it right, as even her daughter running the USS North Carolina agreed and tried vainly to explain it to her?

PS This same lady destroyed her youngest daughter's IJN Kongo with what we like to call the "Bismark vs. Hood Crit." (One hit, Damage roll = 6, Crit confirm roll = 4, Crit Placement roll = two 1s, Crit roll = 6 - Catastrophic Explosion, Hull to 0, Ship Sinks) on the very first turn. :roll:

Oh, and yes, it is very cool how both of the game stores where I live have a number of families who play on Friday Nights and Saturdays. Probably 4-5 regularly at each, most just husband and wives, but sometimes the ones with teens bring them as well. 8)
 
Fairly simple.

the special action should go ahead. there is nothing, from an RL perspective to stop it - the Captain gave the order, the crew is responding. The bridge gets hit, so there is no one to countermand the order, the crew will carry on doing what they started!

theres nothing that i can see in the rulebook to say that the action shouldn't go ahead. i think you did right.

also, if you needed another excuse, the yamato was a much kewler ship that the missouri :p
 
Well in ACTA if a ship loses the ability to perform SAs then the effects and restrictions of any SAs being performed in that turn are instantly lost.

I know this is VAS, but it is the same family lineage.

LBH
 
lastbesthope said:
Well in ACTA if a ship loses the ability to perform SAs then the effects and restrictions of any SAs being performed in that turn are instantly lost.

I know this is VAS, but it is the same family lineage.

LBH

You cannot draw the analogy between VaS and ACTA as other things are different

For example crew loss on a hit applies in ACTA not in VaS

Does it actually say that in the ACTA book ?
It may be that a CRIT in space is more devastating initially due to Vacuum
 
I know ACTA and VaS are different, and I in no way offered it as a definitive answer, but simply as a possible guideline, being as how the mechanics of the games are slightly related.

It isn't actually stated in the ACTA Rules but was rules lawyered as such on several occassions.

LBH
(Teach me to wander out of the ACTA threads :lol: )
 
lastbesthope said:
Well in ACTA if a ship loses the ability to perform SAs then the effects and restrictions of any SAs being performed in that turn are instantly lost.

I know this is VAS, but it is the same family lineage.

LBH

This will make the lady very happy, as she played VaS solely to get her feet wet prior to the release of 2nd Edition B5:ACTA. She really is a big B5 fan, and will be pleased how it is handled in that game.

Having spoken with her again today, she says she understands it from a Naval perspective, but still does not like it. (I personally feel she just enjoys getting crit hits on opponents. I'm gonna have to have her roll dice for me at any tourneys I enter). :wink:

Thanks for the replies all. I think for flavor of the WWII Naval game simulation we got it right. If anyone else wishes to add their thoughts, please do so.

Especially DM or Matt for example, hehe. 8)
 
I would play it that the special action stands. The order has been passed. The fact that the person who gave the order has just had his bridge blown away is no longer a factor.
 
Agreed. I know you can't always apply logic to these things, but in this situation, the bridge exists soley as a place for the order to originate...

unless it's really "all hands on deck" and the captain was planning to do some of the repair work herself.....
 
I'm with LBH on this one, the wording in the VAS book is very similar to ACTA (ie. not clear). And for ACTA it was ruled that the special action is lost. So logic would say that it goes the same way for VAS.

locarno24 said:
in this situation, the bridge exists soley as a place for the order to originate...
No, the crew are fighting amongst themselves for who will be the new captain, so they are distracted from repairing the big hole in the boat.
 
Since the special order has already succeeded, hard to see how the bridge hit makes any difference.

I don't think ruling in a different game should have any bearing on VaS - I'm sure these things work differently on space ships.
 
As has the argument that they are different games and what goes in one doesn't go for the other.

Plus there's always the chance that the original ruling was wrong :)

(notwithstanding gaming equivalents of "Papal Infallability") :D
 
DM, thank you so much for stopping in and giving this your insight. While I have a great deal of respect for the opinions of all on this forum, as far as VaS rulings go, your's and Matt's carry the most weight with me. 8)
 
lastbesthope said:
steveburt said:
Since the special order has already succeeded, hard to see how the bridge hit makes any difference.

The same arguement could have been made for ACTA, but it failed.

LBH

That just makes the success of the argument all the sweeter for VaS! :)

Besides, haven't you been keeping up on Matt's various postings about ACTA. VaS made them reconsider tinker with a number of ideas in ACTA. So, in other words. . . ACTA takes its direction from VaS now. . . not the other way around! :)
 
but it makes no sense to lose the special action... the order has already been given, the crew will be getting on with it, it's not like theres going to be a hull breach resulting in loss of oxygen or gravity loss to distract the crew. all they're gonna feel below decks is a slight shudder and then wonder why theyre having orders shouted down hatches to them rather than someone using the speaking tubes...
 
Ah, now I see the difference. In SF melodrama it is required for lead characters to be intimately involved in any goings on, hence a "bridge" hit that renders them hors de combat means no-one is able to get on with their jobs since the micromanagement they expect and indeed love has been removed.

VAS ships, being crewed by more practical seagoing types who are properly trained, do not suffer this inbuggerance and thus can get on with what thye were told despite the loss of the scrambled egg brigade on the bridge (plus they are well appointed with junior officers and POs who keep things going).

Voila - a rationale for the difference

PS Guess how this one will be (in fact has been) written up in the WW1 version :D
 
Back
Top