I'm about five sessions into a MRQII/Legend campaign. Last night all five of us ended up scratching our heads over the Charging rules.
Under "Full Round Manoeuvres" it says the following:
Example: Tor Magnus (3 CA) is 20m away from Viasmix, and wishes to charge him. According to the rule, he spends 2 CA on Move and presumably 1 CA to attack "along the way." So, for his first CA he moves 16m, his second he moves 4m, then uses his final CA to attack.
Questions we had:
1. What happens if Viamix (or some other foes) engage Tor Magnus after he spends his first CA but before he completes his Charge? He would then be engaged and could not move without Changing Distance to disengage, which would use up his last CA and render the Charge ineffective.
2. Is it even possible to spend CA to react to things (parry, evade, etc.) when making a "Full Round Action" like a Charge, since all of one's CA are declared at the start of the round?
3. What happens if, after 1 CA, Viasmix backs up 5m and thus out of Charge range? Seems a simple way to counter a Charge.
4. What if Viasmix is only 10m away? Does Tor Magnus Charge 10m (1 CA) and attack, then continue moving another 14 m with his other CA spent on Move? Does attacking cost another CA on top of those spent on Move?
5. Is there functionally any difference between a Charge made by a creature with 1 CA vs. creatures with 2 CA or 3 CA?
6. We read the Charge rules to mean that the target can either spend 1 CA to Evade out of the way, or 1 CA to attack the Charger as he's coming in. Target cannot Parry. Is this correct?
Thanks in advance for the feedback.
Under "Full Round Manoeuvres" it says the following:
Charging: The Adventurer moves a total of 3x his normal Movement and attacks along the way. During the round, all the Adventurer's Combat Actions but one must be spent on Move, but in each action he moves up to 2x his normal Movement.
Example: Tor Magnus (3 CA) is 20m away from Viasmix, and wishes to charge him. According to the rule, he spends 2 CA on Move and presumably 1 CA to attack "along the way." So, for his first CA he moves 16m, his second he moves 4m, then uses his final CA to attack.
Questions we had:
1. What happens if Viamix (or some other foes) engage Tor Magnus after he spends his first CA but before he completes his Charge? He would then be engaged and could not move without Changing Distance to disengage, which would use up his last CA and render the Charge ineffective.
2. Is it even possible to spend CA to react to things (parry, evade, etc.) when making a "Full Round Action" like a Charge, since all of one's CA are declared at the start of the round?
3. What happens if, after 1 CA, Viasmix backs up 5m and thus out of Charge range? Seems a simple way to counter a Charge.
4. What if Viasmix is only 10m away? Does Tor Magnus Charge 10m (1 CA) and attack, then continue moving another 14 m with his other CA spent on Move? Does attacking cost another CA on top of those spent on Move?
5. Is there functionally any difference between a Charge made by a creature with 1 CA vs. creatures with 2 CA or 3 CA?
6. We read the Charge rules to mean that the target can either spend 1 CA to Evade out of the way, or 1 CA to attack the Charger as he's coming in. Target cannot Parry. Is this correct?
Thanks in advance for the feedback.