CharGen: Higher Education

JimG

Mongoose
We were looking at the Scholar(Student) career path last night, and it seems like it needs some work.

- the chance of actually increasing your Education - the point of being a student I would think - is slim
- it reduces your chances of entering another career (where in the US right now it is a requirement for many non-military careers)
- it prevents you from later becoming a researcher or physician (I suppose your first term or two in the Physician career could be considered medical school)
- no benefits from the Student career (makes sense for undergrads and grad students, but professors do tend to have salaries and other benefits.) The no benefits rule also makes a couple of the Events useless

Some random ideas to address these issues:
- add a pre-enlistment option similar to those presented in CT High Guard and Merchant Prince for going to college before beginning your first career.
- add an Edu bonus to Rank 0 student, maybe: Edu 8 or +1 Edu, whichever is higher
- allow transfer from Student to Scientist or Physician specialties
- allow benefits to Students of rank 2 or higher
- grant a bonus to qualification and/or advancement for your next career if you survive your first term

Someone suggested changing the name of the specialty from Student to Academic and that might make sense.

Also, perhaps the addition of a Instruction skill...

My personal preference would be to add a Pre-Enlistment step with University, Naval Academy, and Military Academy options, but that may add too much complexity for some people's tastes.

I haven't thought through the ramifications any of these options very carefully, but I thought I'd throw them out for discussion.

To give some background: I've been playing Traveller since 1983...

I use MegaTraveller Basic Character Generation, with the various academy options from advanced gen, but none of the rest of Advanced Character Generation.