BEvo newbie type question(s)

Cpl Futz

Mongoose
Hi! Have enjoyed reading the MC rules and am assembling forces. Quite happy using the rules exactly as worded - these queries are more for clarity of mind and design intent I think.

- the Charge action to get to close combat seems slightly odd. Is the intent that ONLY the player making the Charge action's unit rolls Close Combat dice. I.e. the opposing player DOES NOT roll any dice.

The only reason I query this is that, as written, the opposing troops do not roll close Combat dice (though they do get to allocate where excess hits land after initial allocations, slightly softening the blow) and I am comparing this to Structure assault charges, where the opposing player DOES roll Close combat dice too (or shoot dice if preferred). Is structure assault a special case where both sides knife fight equally until one side is dead or driven off, because of close quarters preventing push-back?

Further, I could see where only the Charging side rolls if the opposing side gets a Charge action as a reaction allowing it to counter Close Assault. Again this is not the case - as written, ONLY Move and Shoot can be used a reactions. Is the assumption that the opposing player will use a shoot reaction as its defence against the Close Assaulting unit after push-back.

Anyway that is a lot of verbiage so I'll stop, but just trying to illustrate my thinking.

Would really appreciate some feedback thoughts on this.

Cheers,

Paul
 
Charge Action: Correct, the defenders don't roll CC dice unless they're in a structure for the reason you describe. They can only React by making Shoot or Move reactions after being pushed back. Note that units in cover may make their reactions before any CC dice are rolled, and I presume that Shoot actions performed this way also include melee attacks etc on the contacting troops.

You REALLY don't want to get caught in the open in Battlefield:Evolution.

I'd suggest that you can't Charge as a reaction (well, not humans anyway. Arachnid warrior bugs are another story :wink: ) since troops that have just been assaulted would prefer to shoot rather than fight presumably larger numbers hand to hand. You can always charge the enemy on your own turn if you wish to.

Note that close assaults also include grenade use, weapons fire etc as well as hand to hand.
 
Thanks for the prompt response Iain. Much as I assumed. Interesting on your comments re grenades/weapons fire - I take it you're referring to the "real" situation as opposed to the game. MC takes no account of such "entertaining" elements of the charge to knife fight in it's Close Combat/assault rules - the whole event is streamlined out. Use of such weapons only pops-up in shoot reaction to Charge/close combat - and if your very own private Futz wants to lug a grenade at point blank range... :shock:

Cheers and good luck on the turkey shoot...

Paul
 
Back
Top