B5: ACTA: Dodge and Beam Weapons

Skipper

Mongoose
OK heres the question.

Passing a doge negates the hit by "dodging" it.

Beams reroll if they get a hit.

Which takes presidence?

1) I hit with three beams, my opponent dodges two of them, I then only roll one dice for the second round as two of them missed.

2) I hit with three beams, I roll them again, and again until I miss. My opponent then gets to attempt to dodge all the hits.

The rules under each trait seem to indicate conflicting results.

Thanks for the clarification.



Skipper
 
If you look at the turn sequence on page 25 you will see rolling attack dice occurs before dodging. Also the beam rule says 'immediately re-roll it to attack again.'
 
kattadder:

Dodge also says "When a ship suffers a hit, roll one dice. If the dice equals or exceeds the Dodge score listed for the ship, all effects of the attack are ignored" That would seem to indicate the followup dice are ignored as they are effects.



Greg:

Great answer. The sequence table on page 25 is clear and concise. This pretty much clarifies the question. Option #2 it is.

Thanks for the reply.
 
Back
Top