Aliens Hands

Vargr

Mongoose
I'm sure there must be a rule for this somewhere but I don't feel like going through the books right now; so I turn to my fellow forumites in hopes someone can point me in the right direction.

What is the penalty for using equipment designed for another race? I'm refering in particular to hand-held devices such as weapons.

In th same vein, while I don't own the Vargr Alien Module, the data I've read says that while their internal hand structure is different, the hands itself are very human-like. Does this mean Vargr and Human hand-held equipment work equally well for either race?
 
The only rule of this kind I am aware of is "Understanding Technological
Items" in the Central Supply Catalogue, pages 16 to 18.
 
I could not find anything in Aslan that mentions a penalty for either humans or Aslan using the others weapons.

I would impose the -3 DM for unfamiliarity if it is not generally the same weapon. However, depending on the type of alien, it may be impossible for a human to use a particular weapons; Hiver weapons come to mind here.

I think a -1 or -2 DM is probably "good enough" for most races typically encountered.

IMTU, I have a methane breathing culture (the S'Haan) that is intertwined with the human dominated culture. It is not possible for a human to use one of the S'Haan weapons due to physiological differences between the human hand and the S'Haan tenticles. The reverse is also true. HOWEVER, simple weapons like a dagger or sword is usable without penalty by the other race.
 
Back
Top