[ACTA2e] Procedure for Dodging Beams.

HeroesGames

Mongoose
Ok This has come up and we have gotten and argument about how this would work the 2 ways which have been explained are as follows.

Procedure 1:

Attacking Ship fires a Beam weapon with 6 AD at a Ship with the Dodge 4+ Trait. The Attacking Ship scores 4 Successful Hits, The Defending Ship then rolls 4 dodges and successfully dodges twice. The Attacker gets 2 Hits and then rolls his additional 2 dice for the beam. and finishes as normal.

Procedure 1:

Attacking Ship fires a Beam weapon with 6 AD at a Ship with the Dodge 4+ Trait. The Attacking Ship scores 4 Successful Hits, followed by 3 more, then 1 one more. The Defending Ship then rolls 8 dodges and successfully dodges twice. The Attacker gets 6 Hits. and finishes as normal.

Which is considered to be the Correct Procedure?
 
HeroesGames said:
Attacking Ship fires a Beam weapon with 6 AD at a Ship with the Dodge 4+ Trait. The Attacking Ship scores 4 Successful Hits, followed by 3 more, then 1 one more. The Defending Ship then rolls 8 dodges and successfully dodges twice. The Attacker gets 6 Hits. and finishes as normal.

This is correct.
 
Would this be an official FAQ.. I can only accept the rulings of a Mongoose Employee or Rulesmaster. As this will be affecting Store tournaments which Mongoose is known to support. No Offense of course.

Russ
 
I am just a playtester. No offence taken

However if you look at the turn sequence on page 25, you will see that attack dice are rolled before dodges.

It has also been answered previously, here, here, here and here.
 
pg 20. Beam: --"A Beam weapon will always strike a successful hit on a target on a roll of a 4 regardless of it's Hull score. Furthermore if an attack dice from this weapon sucessfully strikes a target, immediatly reroll it to attack again. You may continue to reroll every attack dice that scores a 4 or more until you run out of attack dice. Beam weapons completely ignore interceptors--"

pg 10. (first sentence of page): Note, you must roll for all attacks declared on a ship before rolling on the damage table - even if you do not want it to explode.

pg 17. Dodge X: --"Whenever the ship suffers a hit, roll one dice. If the dice equals or exceeds the dodge score listed for the ship, all effects of the attack are ignored."



This should be all the Answer you need right here. These excerpts taken directly from the ACTA 2e book, verify that Procedure 2 in your examples would be the correct examples.
 
HeroesGames said:
Would this be an official FAQ.. I can only accept the rulings of a Mongoose Employee or Rulesmaster. As this will be affecting Store tournaments which Mongoose is known to support. No Offense of course.

Russ

Hi,

Smithy speaks true words and count official confirmation from me. :)
 
Mongoose Old Bear said:
HeroesGames said:
Would this be an official FAQ.. I can only accept the rulings of a Mongoose Employee or Rulesmaster. As this will be affecting Store tournaments which Mongoose is known to support. No Offense of course.

Russ

Hi,

Smithy speaks true words and count official confirmation from me. :)

Marine Biology is not Smithy 'Hooper"'s only area of expertise after all :lol:

LBH
 
HeroesGames said:
thanks for the official ruling.. you know from the past how our players are so thanks again.

Not a worry! I'm here to help, at least that's what they make me say every morning. :wink:
 
Back
Top