ACtA: Hyperplasma Cutter

SylvrDragon

Mongoose
I was curious about the hyperplasma cutter on the Triumviron (Ancient). The hyperplasma cutter states that it gains an additional 2 AD for each hyperplasma cutter that attacks the same target. Is this damage added as an additional attack that follows the first attacks, or is it added onto one of the beams? Also, does each weapon gain an additional 2 AD or is it a net gain of 2 AD per? And lastly, is the increase +2 AD per additional weapon or is it total, meaning that do you add the bonus 3 times if all 3 are attacking the same target?
 
It is each additional cutter that adds 2AD. So if you fire all three you get 6+6+2+6+2 = 22.

As for how the dice are rolled, I don't know. It only really makes a difference when firing at a target with GEG or Adaptive Armour. You can't split the beam.
 
Are the 3 lines merged into one + the bonuses (22AD)
or still 3 lines but two of them with 8 AD instead of 6
or 3 lines of 6AD and 2 of 2 ?

The concern is GEG and Shadows disruption,

thanks,
 
I would say they are merged, that is the whole pint of the bonus. Though, that would be the spirit of the rules, not the letter... as for the letter, I don't know.
 
Aren't you overcomplicating the explaination of this?

...gains an additional 2 AD for each hyperplasma cutter that attacks the same target...

If this is what it says, then to me it means one of two things depending on how you interpret it.

If you declare that all 3 beams will attack the same target, then you get 3 separate attacks as with any other ship. The first beam is either 6AD (because no other weapon has attacked yet), or it 10AD because 2 other beams have been declared.

So it's 3 separate weapon attacks at either:

6AD, 8AD, 10AD or

10AD, 10AD, 10AD.

I guess we need an official clarification?
 
It's not 10 10 10.

We already had a clarification about the bonus which is +2 if two cutters fire the same target and +4 if all three fire their dice at the same target.

The question here was to know where the bonus is added (or if it is roll separately).

This is because the GEG works per system weapon and the Shadow disruption (pin) is per beam shot so it's a huge difference between 3 shots of 6/8 dice and one shot of 22AD.
 
If it's all rolled together then it goes against the normal rules of firing weapons, and there's nothing in the description to suggest that this is what happens. Therefore (if it's not 10,10,10) it must be:

6, 8, 10.

Otherwise there's no additional bonus to firing 3 at the same target and that's what the rule states. "gains an additional 2 AD for each hyperplasma cutter that attacks the same target"

If it was 6, 8, 8 then the last one hasn't gained 2AD for each cutter that's attacking, just 2AD for the fact that at least one has fired before.
 
The gain is seen on the total so if you have 1 cutter no additionnal bonus.
for 2 cutter you've got one additionnal cutter on top of the first one so +2AD.
for 3 cutter you've got two additionnal cutter and you get +2 AD for each additionnal cutter so +2 * 2 which is +4 AD.

Since it's a "global" gain has it to be fired separatly, added to one weapon system, spread on the 2 or 3 system firing ...
 
I know that we've seen badly worded rules before so I know I'll probably be proved wrong officially, but if it was that way it should be worded:

"...gains an additional 2 AD if a hyperplasma cutter has already attacked the same target". Or something to that effect.

But it doesn't. It specifically emplies that you get +2AD for each previous weapon that's attacked.

If it's not 6, 8, 10 (or 10,10,10), then someone at mongoose needs an english lesson.

...I'll now wait for someone to correct my english. :wink:
 
It has been officially clarified that it is 6, 8, 8.
It doesn't state that you get 2AD for each one that has previously fired. It states that you get 2AD for each additional one. So, the 3rd cutter is one additional cutter, therefore it gets 2AD bonus.

But whether it's 3 weapon systems or all one, it has not been clarified. I'd say, intent/fluff says it counts as one, but rules as written suggest 3 separates.
 
Well I stand officially corrected as I thought I would be...

EDIT

I see what I was getting wrong now, thanks Burger. I still thinks it's as clear as mud though.
 
mollari_uk said:
...I'll now wait for someone to correct my english. :wink:

I won't since you all know that's not my mother tongue but when I read "for each additionnal" it seems pretty clear to me ;-)
And since you have to declare all your firing weapons at the same time you can't use "previously" IMO.


So what I was asking is about considering one big weapon with bonuses or the three lines separatly which gives different results in case of GEG or disruption.

Edit : sorry just didn't refresh the page and missed burger's last post (and your's by the way)
 
Back
Top