ACTA Boresights

thehod

Mongoose
Ok if Narn G'Quan boresights a Vorchan but then later a Dargan moves and when it finishes its move is also in the line of the boresight what happens?

a) the dargan blocks the boresight shot against the vorchan

b) nothing, the vorchan can be targeted as normal

c) both the vorchan and Dargan can be targeted by the boresight

would like to know
 
Gentlemens agreement would be b)
as boresight is centre to centre it is usually accepted that the ship with the boresight has to move and turn to line up a target, accidental targets are highly unlikey.
 
Yep most people play that you have to actively turn to line up a boresight on a target that cannot move afterwards. Accidental boresights are only possible if you move a ship into a boresight arc deliberately and say 'I move onto the boresight'. Even still, you dont block line of sight to another ship along that line.

I knowit doesnt really make much sense (and to be frank the boresight rule in general could do with some hefty alteration)
 
Since this is rulesmasters, the RULE should be given. The book says that if it is in arc then it can be shot at. If both targets are lined up in boresight then they can both be shot at, no matter how they ended up getting there.

"Declared boresights only" is a house rule.
 
Burger said:
Since this is rulesmasters, the RULE should be given. The book says that if it is in arc then it can be shot at. If both targets are lined up in boresight then they can both be shot at, no matter how they ended up getting there.

"Declared boresights only" is a house rule.
Agreed. However you declare or designate a Boresight, either a ship IS on it (in which case it's a target you can shoot at, and in ACtA no ship blocks fire except by Special Action) or is ISN'T (in which case it cannot block it anyway). You could just as easily say both are on the Boresight and choose your target (or split if the weapon allows - Beams only if within 4", for instance).

Wulf
 
Well actually, "declared boresights" is a rules clarification from the rulesmasters themselves; and the email it this clarification was recieved in can be presented to quantify the statement.

It's important to remember that a boresight weapon doesn't HAVE an arc; although it is counted when rolling for random arcs. How can something that relies TOTALLY on a ship turning to gain a target lock; possibly be considered to have an arc.

Also, lets remember that in ACTA, space is supposed to be three dimensional and the figures we use are only representative. Only certain terrain features are considered to block line of sight, the rules even state that just because a ship is front of your, it could be 1,000 metres on a downward angle. Representing that would be exceptionally difficult, hence why we say that things like planets don't block lines of sight, because you could be at a state of geosynchronus orbit, or even on anyone of two polar orbits.

This is a rule that does need hefty working on; and something that cause a great deal of divided opinion when we [my games club] first started ACTA.
 
Centauri_Admiral said:
Well actually, "declared boresights" is a rules clarification from the rulesmasters themselves; and the email it this clarification was recieved in can be presented to quantify the statement.
Do you have a link to back that statement up?

Centauri_Admiral said:
It's important to remember that a boresight weapon doesn't HAVE an arc
Yes it does. Its arc is a 1-dimensional line.
 
thehod said:
Ok if Narn G'Quan boresights a Vorchan but then later a Dargan moves and when it finishes its move is also in the line of the boresight what happens?

a) the dargan blocks the boresight shot against the vorchan

b) nothing, the vorchan can be targeted as normal

c) both the vorchan and Dargan can be targeted by the boresight

would like to know

a) only if the Dargan successfully performed the Manoeuvre to Shield them! SA

b) Correct, assuming 'gentleman's agreement

c) possible, depends on whether gentleman's agreement is in force or some other system.

LBH
 
Centauri_Admiral said:
Representing that would be exceptionally difficult, hence why we say that things like planets don't block lines of sight, because you could be at a state of geosynchronus orbit, or even on anyone of two polar orbits.
Planets DO block line of sight, unless one ship is on top of the planet.

Wulf
 
Back
Top