ACTA Bases contact and other....

No. 1 Bear

Mongoose
Right this has had much disccussion about it but no real answers. So i will ask for an answer from someone who is like mat etc.

What is a base size. Is it a new official one or is it the one the figure is mounted on or do you use the stem. This is for No. of fighters, pods and suicide fighters.

Can someone clear all this up.

Thankyou.
 
There is no official base size. You are free to use whatever size bases you like for your minis. When the rules refer to "base" they mean the one that the mini is mounted on.

There is no limit on fighters, pods or suicide fighters that can attack a ship, apart from how many you can physically fit.

These are the current rules. Anyone who tells you different is using house rules, or is talking about changes they would like to see introduced.
 
There is a difference to how breaching pods are treated compared to suicide fighters. In the breaching pod trait description it states that they need to get into base contact to attack a ship. Suicide fighters need to touch the stem to attack (that is where your ship is supposed to be, regardless of base size).
 
Iain McGhee said:
There is a difference to how breaching pods are treated compared to suicide fighters. In the breaching pod trait description it states that they need to get into base contact to attack a ship. Suicide fighters need to touch the stem to attack (that is where your ship is supposed to be, regardless of base size).

Funny thought just hit me. If the ship's location is the stem and the breaching pods only get to the base edge, won't those poor GROPOS be sucking vacuum when they open the pod doors? :lol:
 
Iain McGhee said:
There is a difference to how breaching pods are treated compared to suicide fighters. In the breaching pod trait description it states that they need to get into base contact to attack a ship. Suicide fighters need to touch the stem to attack (that is where your ship is supposed to be, regardless of base size).

Has it actually been ruled that "moves into contact with an enemy ship" means into contact with the base's stem?
 
Court Jester said:
Iain McGhee said:
There is a difference to how breaching pods are treated compared to suicide fighters. In the breaching pod trait description it states that they need to get into base contact to attack a ship. Suicide fighters need to touch the stem to attack (that is where your ship is supposed to be, regardless of base size).

Has it actually been ruled that "moves into contact with an enemy ship" means into contact with the base's stem?

I think that's still an open question. At least over on this topic it hadn't been resolved as yet-

http://www.mongoosepublishing.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=31209&start=15&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=klikkitak
 
I asked this in Oct, see thread further done on the list, and have yet to get an offical answer.

I guess that Mongoose really doesn't care what you use.

What was the ruling at the Earh Centauri War weekend? There was a Gaim player there correct?
 
tschuma said:
I asked this in Oct, see thread further done on the list, and have yet to get an offical answer.

I guess that Mongoose really doesn't care what you use.

What was the ruling at the Earh Centauri War weekend? There was a Gaim player there correct?

I think that they care but it's just that they can't catch every question. Your last comment is a good one to find out what was used. Of course, that doesn't make it official but it does give out a hint at what was the consensus for those games.

Then there is this current topic as well-

http://www.mongoosepublishing.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=33268&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=moves+contact+enemy+ship
 
Court Jester said:
Iain McGhee said:
There is a difference to how breaching pods are treated compared to suicide fighters. In the breaching pod trait description it states that they need to get into base contact to attack a ship. Suicide fighters need to touch the stem to attack (that is where your ship is supposed to be, regardless of base size).

Has it actually been ruled that "moves into contact with an enemy ship" means into contact with the base's stem?

There's not been an official answer so far. I've posted another "official answers only" entry about this (and AF Vs skindancers).

Ever since ACTA has been around the stem has always been taken as the point where the ship actually is. The only change in 2e is that fighters measure from the base edge rather than the centre. Skindancers and Breaching Pods specify "base contact" rather than "contact", so it seems pretty clear to me that they are the only exceptions to this.
 
Back
Top