A few questions about grappling

gran_orco

Mongoose
I am reading new rules about grappling, and I have some dudes:

1) "Grappling combatants may not use Reactions", and a "grappling combatant is restricted to the following special Combat Actions with his grapple partner...", so how could this situation take place?: "Grappling combatants suffer a –20% penalty to any tests that do not target or directly respond to their grapple partner".

2) Immobilise (...) "Escape requires a successful Unarmed skill test with a penalty equal to the opponent’s STR+SIZ". Should I spend a "break free" action with a penalty (opposed roll), or simply must I have a succes with a simple unarmed roll (with penalty, sure)

3) Inflict Pain: "the damage is 1D6 + damage modifiers and applies to a random location". Does it count the AP?
 
gran_orco said:
1) "Grappling combatants may not use Reactions", and a "grappling combatant is restricted to the following special Combat Actions with his grapple partner...", so how could this situation take place?: "Grappling combatants suffer a –20% penalty to any tests that do not target or directly respond to their grapple partner".

One could read that to mean only the special combat actions can be used with his grapple partner, so any other (normal) comabt actions can be used with the penalty against any other target. If you want to carry on skewering Tommy Troll with your sword, despite the fact that Terry Trollkin is clinging to your leg, you can do so, but at a penalty... (I'm not convinced this is the intended reading mind you)


gran_orco said:
2) Immobilise (...) "Escape requires a successful Unarmed skill test with a penalty equal to the opponent’s STR+SIZ". Should I spend a "break free" action with a penalty (opposed roll), or simply must I have a succes with a simple unarmed roll (with penalty, sure)

I think that breaking free costs you an action - that is, if you normally have 2 Combat actions and start the round being immobilised then you may make 2 attempts to escape each round. If the first one succeeds then you still have one action left that round.

I don't think the escape should be an opposed roll if it also has a penalty based on STR+SIZ - But I think I'd sooner it was an opposed roll than just a penalised normal roll...

gran_orco said:
3) Inflict Pain: "the damage is 1D6 + damage modifiers and applies to a random location". Does it count the AP?

I'd believe either... a "Nerve pinch" or "chinese burn" won't work through armour - but twisting a limb "the wrong way" may force it against the edge of the armour and cause more damage... probably yes without some special rule/spell/ability to bypass armour
 
The exact phrase is "a grapple combatant is restricted to the following special combat actions". This is why I don' understand the sentence "suffer a -20% penalty to any tests that do not target or directly respod to their grapple partner".
 
Back
Top