World Building Questions

Bobsan

Mongoose
I've browsed/searched the forums and could not find an answer to this, so, my apologies if these questions have been asked.

I'm new to Traveller and am playing around with the world building rules as I learn character Gen. So far, I've come accross a couple of things I'm unsure of.

Hydrographics: What happens if the total you roll is above the highest # on the chart? (i.e.: I totalled a 13 [2d6 (12) - 7 + 8])? should the chart be reading 10+ as the highest?

Law Levels: Do you roll for each catagory? Or once and take the row?

Starport: The lowest says 2 or less. But there is no modifier listed to make a roll less than 2. Should there be?

Any help with these is appreciated.
 
Bobsan said:
Hydrographics: What happens if the total you roll is above the highest # on the chart? (i.e.: I totalled a 13 [2d6 (12) - 7 + 8])? should the chart be reading 10+ as the highest?

It's 125% water. ;) Take it as 10, of course.

Law Levels: Do you roll for each catagory? Or once and take the row?
The UWP suggests taking only one result, but it isn't complete (missing the cultural differences). I tend to roll an extra Law Level (and an extra cult. diff.) for any fraction.
But it's one level per row, yes.
 
Bobsan said:
I've browsed/searched the forums and could not find an answer to this, so, my apologies if these questions have been asked.

I'm new to Traveller and am playing around with the world building rules as I learn character Gen. So far, I've come accross a couple of things I'm unsure of.

Hydrographics: What happens if the total you roll is above the highest # on the chart? (i.e.: I totalled a 13 [2d6 (12) - 7 + 8])? should the chart be reading 10+ as the highest?

Law Levels: Do you roll for each catagory? Or once and take the row?

Starport: The lowest says 2 or less. But there is no modifier listed to make a roll less than 2. Should there be?

Any help with these is appreciated.

HYDROGRAPHICS: Anything above a 10 is a 10, anything below 0 is 0.

LAW LEVEL: Roll ONCE. The table is general guidelines of what might be banned in each category. Although if you want to roll for each, feel free.

STARPORT: If you use the Hard Science optional rules, you can get values below 2 (since population affects the starport).
 
Rikki Tikki Traveller said:
Starport: The lowest says 2 or less. But there is no modifier listed to make a roll less than 2. Should there be?

Any help with these is appreciated.

STARPORT: If you use the Hard Science optional rules, you can get
values below 2 (since population affects the starport).[/quote]

Thanks Riki. I must have missed that rule. :)
 
Bobsan said:
Law Levels: Do you roll for each catagory? Or once and take the row?
Roll once. The government table tells you which categories are restricted for each government type; for example, Gov 8 restricts weapons and drugs according to its law level but has no restrictions on information, technology or travel (unlike Gov 9, for example, which has restrictions on everything - damned bureaucrats! :evil:).
 
Bobsan said:
Law Levels: Do you roll for each catagory? Or once and take the row?

I generally keep the law level fluid. Using the base level, I go through the various categories and throw a d6.

1=-2
2=-1
3-no change
4=no change
5=+1
6=+1

Also, be sure to look at what makes sense for the setting you want to create. There's no reason for there not to be odd results due to tradition etc.

In America, marijuana has been illegal for over 30+ years but possession of a "personal supply" in Alaska is still legal in some situations.
 
Back
Top