Were-Hyena

A

Anonymous

Ok, I am very new to the Conan world. On my 2nd session playing as a thief. I failed a disable device check and got hit with a curse that turned me into a werehyena. Now the DM is also on only his 2nd session playing Conan so we are kinda fumbling throuhg it together. I notice that i get some huge str/dex/con bonus' and alot of other combat based bonuses. I realize that at the moment i am stuck as a hyena which removes my ability to speak and use hadns and such. If i can get this curse removed and possibly learn how to control my shifting what drawbacks are there to having a wereform? it seems to me that i am almost unstopable in were form. any help would be really appreciated.

Noob B

I already voiced my opinions over at rpg.net but I'm also interested to see what people here think.

Basically the concensus over there was that as the character's corruption grew he would eventually lose control and go on killing rampages more and more often; it would also lead to possible player isolation as the rest of the party hung out in the town carousing and wenching away.

Since both you and the GM are fairly new to this (question - new just to Conan, or rpgs generally?) I would say that this gives a great direction for the campaign to go in as your colleagues have to travel the land and hunt down a sage able to cure you, all the while trying to keep you from ravaging the surrounding countryside and where necessary protect you from the town watch or other adventurers out to rid the land of this new menace. See where I'm going with this? It's still a curse, but you can use it to tell a great story!

Perhaps once (if) you get cured, you might feel remorse at the actions you committed in were-form and feel compelled to somehow make up for them by doing good deeds, or giving anonymous donations to your previous victims etc.