[WaW] British Commandos question

Outlander

Mongoose
After a brief hiatus from playing Battlefield Evolution MC I've recently started playing Battlefield Evolution World at War as the British, I have a problem with Commandos though.

In the Commandos army list special rules it states under Ambush that any one British commando infantry unit can use the ambush special rule.

Now, taken as written this strikes me as very odd as it implies that only one unit in the whole force can ambush.

So is this a typo? Is it actually meant to be any infantry unit instead of just one?

It seems even more odd when units such as commando snipers don't have the ambush rule when every other sniper unit in the game does or commando engineers not being able to ambush when paratrooper engineers can.

If this has been covered before or in the errata I'm sorry but I couldn't find a thread on this topic or a copy of the errata. My search-fu could just be weak though.

Cheers.
 
So just to be sure, I could say have 4 squads of commandos and have them all ambush and not deploy any of them at the start of the game with the rest of my force?
 
basaint said:
Its been awhile but I'd go with ruling you pointed out. 'any one unit' meaning one.

The problem with that is other armies can have more ambushing units than Commandos can.

For example Soviets can have ambushing Sniper Teams and still be allowed to field other ambush units like Recon Teams or Engineers. Commandos on the other hand can only ever have one ambushing Sniper Team and if they do then no other unit in the force can ambush including other Snipers.

I know that a direct comparison isn't exactly fair given that Soviet infantry units tend to be fairly poor compared to everyone else but every force in the game can field at least one unit with the ambush rule this means that every force in the game can field more ambushing units than commandos can. The only advantage Commandos gain from the rule is they can ambush with units that no one else can but its still only one of said unit so its of very limited usefulness.

My issue isn't with interpretation of the rule as written it's if the rule is correct.

If the rule as its written is correct then fine I'll play British Paratroopers or Army instead.
 
Outlander said:
So just to be sure, I could say have 4 squads of commandos and have them all ambush and not deploy any of them at the start of the game with the rest of my force?
Yes.
 
basaint said:
Its been awhile but I'd go with ruling you pointed out. 'any one unit' meaning one.
Nope, the whole army can be in Ambush. The high points of the Commandos are reflecting this.
Final word is of course from Matt, but I had the rules written with the above intention.
 
Back
Top