VAS vs other rules...

DougE

Mongoose
I'm new to this site but not to wargaming, however, this is my first foray into naval warfare.
Not trying to step on any toes here, but what is the difference from VAS to say GHQ's WWII Micronaut rules?

In terms of game play, detail etc.

Thanks,

Doug

I've no experience with other rulesets, but I understand that VaS is among the more streamlined sets, with (I think) General Quarters being among the most detailed. Thus VaS is well suited to fleet actions, while other rules might be better for skirmishes or ship on ship combat.

The main differences I see is GQ III uses charts for all the simulation trying to keep it simple and VAS is setup simple. Both set of rules play well from my experience
GQIII rules cover a wider area of stuff if you want to add it to your game.
VAS has what is most popular, Not the extreme stuff for people who want it. But that is changing as there are going to be more extended Advanced rules in the future.
I prefer VAS for the easy less chart based style of play, both require sheets for your ships to record damage.
Most naval players own multiple sets of rules and tend to play some more than others.
I myself as I stated prefer VAS and thats what I run at cons because its very easy to learn.

I vastly prefer quick miniature games.

If there is lots of charts and folks will argue over wooden deck plank thickness...I am gone.

The only rule sets I am really familiar with are the Victory at Sea rules and the War at Sea rules.

The Victory at Sea rules are good, though there are a few holes and needless complications (Crew). These are all (I assume) being addressed in VaS 2.0! Yea!

The WaS rules are VERY beer and pretzel, but are fun and fast. I find the tiny map and victory conditions that come with the game VERY lacking, but folks have stepped up to the plate and made some great historical maps and scenarios:

http://beerandpretzel.webs.com/apps/photos/album?albumid=12901209

Hope that helps!

Peace