Two Weapon mage

carrknight

Mongoose
If a person holds two weapons, or a weapon and a shield he gains a CA, right?

But what if he is a mage? From a previous post it was clear that a mage can use any weapon and as long as his hands are not tied he can cast a spell.
The problem is that holding a shield the mage now has an additional CA he can then use for his sorceries.
That just seem like a cheap exploit, is it allowed?

It seems like the good old quarterstaff is a liability for a socerer.
 
I think I would be tempted to rule that a shield, strapped to your arm, would be too restrictive and would have to be dropped to cast spells. But that's just me.
 
Id just rule that while technically true this is just blatant power gaming and abuse of the rules and give the player a slap
 
As I understand it, yes, he could use the extra CA for spellcasting. The reasoning is that the defensive advantage from the shield, or at least the possibility of one, gives you more time/opportunity to accomplish things in a combat round.
 
Thank you all.

Yes, one could always house-rule this problem away, but I wanted to follow rules properly as much as possible.
I think I'll just rule that the mage requires at least one hand empty to cast a spell.
 
Back
Top