Traveler core rules deck plans, first impressions

bytedruid

Mongoose
I'm new to standard Traveller, having just finished reading the core rulebook 2022. Most of the content is well ordered and reasonable (though some table entries have got to be typos), and the artwork is rather nice. (y) Also, unlike BattleTech, the ships have deck plans (Whoo Hoo!)

Though, speaking of deck plans, only a few are reasonable. Good examples are the Laboratory Ship (p206), and Mercenary Cruiser (p216). Unfortunately, most of them have the following glaring safety flaw that would have been immediately corrected during early engineering design review:
  • If grav-plating is off-line and the ship has to maneuver, all the long-axis hallways become plummeting death tunnels.
In general, when designing non-atmospheric spacecraft, down is always towards the reaction drive. Anything else is just silly. For ships that act as aircraft for some portion of their flight, rooms would still not be very long in the fore<-->aft axis because it's just not safe. Space travel is dangerous enough, futuristic ship designers wouldn't intentionally compound the problem with deck layouts such as these.

If anyone has a source of more reasonable standard designs, I'd be happy to pick it up.

(I'm assuming that maneuver drives are essentially reaction drives since they are described as generating thrust. As far a jump drives go, anything's fine. They're basically magic anyway.)

For the standard belly lander deck lay out, I would assume there are three forces prevailing during acceleration with a gravitic manoeuvre drive.

1. Deck artificial gravity, which is likely ninety degrees right angle to the nose of the spacecraft.

2. Felt acceleration, gravity multiplied by the (current) acceleration factor of the manoeuvre drive.

3. Neutralization of felt acceleration by the organic inertial compensation (field) of the manoeuvre drive.