Tournament and Campaign

What do you want?

• One set of balanced fleets for both campaign and tournament, rules to balance races at campaign leve

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Two sets of ships, tournament/campaign, balancing game play type at the fleet level

• Something else? (please explain)

• My head on a pike...

• Total voters

l33tpenguin

Mongoose
A single set of ships identical for both game types with rules to balance the races at the campaign level or two lists, one set each to balance the gameplay at the fleet level.

Use the current Tournament list with variants extrapolated from it for everything, no need whatsoever for any campaign re-balancing. Just like I already do...

Wulf

Wulf Corbett said:
Use the current Tournament list with variants extrapolated from it for everything, no need whatsoever for any campaign re-balancing. Just like I already do...

Wulf
Then why when I asked the question as a total newbie was I told repeatedly that the tournament lists with tournament ship stats are balanced for tournament play whilst the campaign lists with campaign ship stats are also balanced but for campaign play??

If campaign lists are currently balanced, and then you change the campaign ship stats over to the tournament ship stats without making any other changes to the rules, then campaign lists can therefore no longer be balanced.

All we need from Mongoose (until 2d edition ACTA comes out) is an expanded PDF based on the exisitng tournament rules & ship stats (which everyone assures me are perfectly balanced for tournament play, with some additional several pages of additional rules/tables for campaign play.

I can then try to learn ACTA having to memorise only 1 set of ships stats regardless of whether playing 1-off or campaign games. And I can then persuade friends at local gaming club that they do in fact want to play ACTA.