Telepathic actions

Vortex

Mongoose
If I understand the rules right, all telepathic powers with "Standard" listed in the "Action" entry can be used (or maintained) as a move action. That would make it possible for a telepath to use two powers per round, without penalty if he doesn't maintain them.

That is an awful lot of mental firepower!

Did I miss something or is it really that way?
 
You can maintain them as a move action, but activating them is standard. So you could maintain one power while using another, but you can't activate two in the same round.
 
Where is it written?

By the way, from what I can see, in 2nd there is no such thing as a "standard action" the term was replaced by "attack action". In this particular case, I think it can cause a lot of confusion.

What I found was that those with "Action: standard" could be used as move action. It is clearly written that it takes the same type of action to activate or maintain a power from what I can remember.
 
Yeah, the standard / attack change confused me.

Consider that sucker house ruled if my players ever notice it. Telepaths are already powerful enough as it is.
 
Ack. Yeah, the intention is to only allow the activation of one new power per round. I'll recheck the book to see if that rule's in there explicitly - if not, then consider it errataed.
 
Do not have the book in front of me but thinking this thing out.

Say if I a telepath scan you OK but then how can I at the same time scan another player and the first one if a scan requires some kind of consencration. I would have to drop the first scan on the first person to engage the second scan on the second person.

Of course I could be wrong. HMMM I but I bet Bestor could scan two or more at once ;)
 
Of course I could be wrong. HMMM I but I bet Bestor could scan two or more at once

I have a Telepaths book on the dockett for next year...I believe what you just described is one of my tentative ideas for a Telepath Feat.

Bry
 
From the rules, you most definitely can scan two people at the same time, even three when you get to level 5 and gain the ability to maintain one power as a free action instead of a move action. But it won't be easy.

You get a penalty to your check for each power you're already maintaining (-4 I think). So you second scan is at -4 and your third is at -8. You also have that -8 to concentration checks to maintain all three scans. I think a feat can diminish these penalties (Synergist?).

With the errata Mongoose Gar added in this topic, it would take three rounds to activate all these scans assuming all checks are successful.

Note that this doesn't apply to deep scan because it requires a full round action to activate or maintain. You could only maintain one power while activating a deep scan and only if you're level 5 and can maintain it as a free action and you would get the -4 to the deep scan.

That is my perception of the system.
 
Back
Top