Greg Smith
Mongoose
Can fighters supporting a ship fire if they do not dogfight?
If they fire, can they still intercept?
If they fire, can they still intercept?
From what I've read it is a matter of initiative timing (unless overruled by official errata). If you have the initiative your fighters in support may be able to fire on ships/flights within their range (so far nothing to say they can't) and if the initiative then goes to your opponent who uses a surviving fighter to fire on your capital ship your fighter would move to dogfight immediately. It's already stated that you can, under certain initiative/survival conditions, dogfight with the same flight two or more times pending the rolls of each prior dogfight. That would seem to me to indicate that you could make your attack and then get pulled into a secondary dogfight IF you have range and have the initiative. That secondary dogfight pulls your ship out of formation so a subsequent attack that would normally provoke a dogfight reaction gets through and your flight remains, useless, where it was (Until End of Turn).2E Rules said:In general, flights will only dogfight once each turn. However, it is possible for a flight to dogfight twice if a player nominates
his fighters to attack and only gains a draw in a dogfight or is fighting against multiple flights. The flights will remain locked together until his opponent declares his fighters to attack, in which case another dogfight is fought immediately.
Winged_Human said:IMO I don't believe that supporting Fighters (for a Dogfight) should be allowed any other actions for the round.
Winged_Human said:It wouldn't seem feasable (IMO) rules wise or Fluff wise that these fights would be able to Fight a dog fight and act as interceptors at the same time.
Would you agree?
Can fighters supporting a ship fire if they do not dogfight?