Star Fleet

JohnDW

Mongoose
A few things that I've been wondering about.

1. Mongoose sells two different base sizes in the rulebook/accessory section of their site. Can any ship use any of these two base sizes, or should the size that comes with the ship be used?

2. Power drain. If a ship is crippled, and makes a special action that requires power drain, which power drain effect is allowed to be taken? With a max speed of 6 all ready, the first one seems to be not allowed. A crippled ship can only fire 1 weapon system, can it choose 'may only fire phasers' as the power drain effect and then be further restricted to only 1 phaser system? Does only being able to fire 1 weapon system count as 'having one weapon system' for the purpose of the third power drain effect as far as the conclusion of not being able to fire any weapon systems? Or could it pick the 'only fire 1 system' effect and then fire 1 weapon system?

3. If you choose to only fire 1 weapon system from power drain, in general not when crippled, do you have to declare which system it is in the movement phase when you get power drain, or in the shooting phase when it comes time to choose to fire?

4. When moving ships, what counts as ships stacking? When any part of their base overlaps with any part of another ships base? Or only when the center of both bases over lap with each other?
 
JohnDW said:
1. Mongoose sells two different base sizes in the rulebook/accessory section of their site. Can any ship use any of these two base sizes, or should the size that comes with the ship be used?

All Star Fleet ships come with the larger base size.

2. Power drain. If a ship is crippled, and makes a special action that requires power drain, which power drain effect is allowed to be taken? With a max speed of 6 all ready, the first one seems to be not allowed. A crippled ship can only fire 1 weapon system, can it choose 'may only fire phasers' as the power drain effect and then be further restricted to only 1 phaser system? Does only being able to fire 1 weapon system count as 'having one weapon system' for the purpose of the third power drain effect as far as the conclusion of not being able to fire any weapon systems? Or could it pick the 'only fire 1 system' effect and then fire 1 weapon system?

The first one would not be allowed. If you chose 'only fire phasers', it would be one phaser only. A cripple ship has more than one weapon, just can't fire them. The Armed Priority Transport is an example of a ship with only one weapon.


3. If you choose to only fire 1 weapon system from power drain, in general not when crippled, do you have to declare which system it is in the movement phase when you get power drain, or in the shooting phase when it comes time to choose to fire?

It isn't specified in the rules. We declare during the movement phase.


4. When moving ships, what counts as ships stacking? When any part of their base overlaps with any part of another ships base? Or only when the center of both bases over lap with each other?

Any part of the base.
 
Back
Top