SST Question

Trigger

Mongoose
Okay. I know Starship Troopers Miniature Game is no longer manufactured, but was wondering if anyone here that might have played it could answer a question I have. Pretty Please. :D

If a MI Trooper is on top of Impassable Terrain (size 2") and wants to shoot at a Bug on the game board. Do you just measure from point to point at an angle no matter how far back the MI Trooper may be from the edge of the Impassable Terrain? Just a quick clarification of the LoS rule would be GREAT when there are levels of Height involved.

Here's a picture of some MI on top of 2" plateau's shooting some warrior Bugs as an example to use.

SST_Terrain2.jpg
 
We measure straight line at angles to reflect the actual shot and LOS is largely WYSIWYG (what you see is what you get) with the ultra rare dispute being solved by a die roll.
 
So if a MI is 10" back on top of a 2" size flat terrain and he wants to shoot a bug on the game board with his standard rifle, he can shoot 20" out (10" more on the game board) and angled down to the bug target. If the LoS touches the terrain due to the angle (bugs really close to the terrain) then the terrain blocks LoS. Correct? Just clarifying is all and thanks again.

1 last one, I know 2" Bugs block 2" Bugs when calculating LoS. Any part of a Bug blocks LoS?
 
visual aide - The line for max range is the same length, just angulated.

Realistic? No, but then again none of the ranges are in most miniatures games. It's a game mechanic for balance only.

Top pic = in range
bottom pic = out of range
visual%20aide.jpg
 
I get it. This is what I was asking though as we used a rule of having to be in "Point Blank" Range of the edge of a cliff to Shoot a bug on the game board. Any farther back (even if you could draw a LoS to the bug) than "Point Blank" range from the edge, and you DID NOT have LoS. So in my example below, this has NO LoS and can not shoot the bug. IF the terrain was lower and the angle DID reach the bug without hitting the terrain, then it would be within LoS, correct?

visual21aide.jpg
 
One last quick question if I can. I know bug markers do not cause reactions when the come within 10 inches of MI on the surface and complete a action. Do bug markers GET reactions from MI that finish an action within 10 inches of them since MI can target a marker and shoot it as an example?
 
Trigger said:
One last quick question if I can. I know bug markers do not cause reactions when the come within 10 inches of MI on the surface and complete a action. Do bug markers GET reactions from MI that finish an action within 10 inches of them since MI can target a marker and shoot it as an example?

Nope.
 
I don't know who may play Starship Troopers anymore, but I have been gathering and building this system for a little while and just got done with my terrain boards. Thought some here might like a blast from the past.

newterrainboards.jpg
 
Back
Top