Spirit magic - movement and spirit intensity questions

Antalon

Mongoose
The new Spirit Magic rules are very much easier: clear, easy to use and comprehensive. Thanks. They are also much easier to adapt / develop.

Two questions that are can't see an answer to:

1) When discorporate (as a Shaman spirit walking), what is your move rate?

For that matter, what is the move rate for other types of spirits such as Ancestors, Animal Spirits, Sickness / Curse spirits etc?

2) Page 27, magic using characters, refers to Shaman's beginning magic as possessing an 'intensity' of spirits. First, only Animal Spirts have their Intensity detailed in the spirit magic chapter, what about other spirits? Second, the text on pg 27 states that one of the shaman's starting spirits may be bound into a fetch - is this an error, should it be a fetish? (Note - in previous editions of runequest a fetch could 'hold' spirits that had been captured for the shaman's use, this specific ability is not indicated at all on pg 139.)

Once again - regardless of these few queries - these spirit magic rules are so, so, much easier to understand!!!

Antalon
 
Antalon said:
1) When discorporate (as a Shaman spirit walking), what is your move rate?
I don't think its defined anywhere. So you have two choices. Either take the Fetch as being typical and all spirits (including discorporate shaman) roam about at 20m. Or ignore the fetch and say everything moves at its POW.

Its one of those odd situations to define, since time & space on the spirit plane are supposed to be abstract and mutable, subject to GM fiat.

2) Page 27, magic using characters, refers to Shaman's beginning magic as possessing an 'intensity' of spirits. First, only Animal Spirts have their Intensity detailed in the spirit magic chapter, what about other spirits?
Use the same progression for other types of spirits. Up to 12 POW as 1, 13-18 as 2, etc.

Second, the text on pg 27 states that one of the shaman's starting spirits may be bound into a fetch - is this an error, should it be a fetish? (Note - in previous editions of runequest a fetch could 'hold' spirits that had been captured for the shaman's use, this specific ability is not indicated at all on pg 139.)
That is indeed an error. It should say fetish.

Fetches are not intended to hold additional spirits for the shaman. They are very potent as they are. :)

Once again - regardless of these few queries - these spirit magic rules are so, so, much easier to understand!!!
Thanks!
 
Back
Top