slaughterj
Mongoose
Sutek said:slaughterj said:Sutek, address my point about all attacks not requiring a free action. If you don't, you will have clearly shown that your argument was wrong. You can try to change the discussion to another element, but that still won't mean that attacks do not require a standard action in all situations. Therefore, defensive blast as a free action can still be an attack.
Okay, attacks not requiring a free action? I;ll adress that by saying that it doesn't make any sense. Attacks DON'T require a Free Action, so I have no idea what I'm supposed to adress.
LOL, corrected above, I meant to type standard action

Sutek said:It's simple. If OppSac. is read such that it requires and attack, and since DB doesn't state that it is actually an attack, the two are therefore incompatible and cannot be used in conjunction with one another. It's really just that simple.
That would be great if it were that simple.
Sutek said:You folks 'have made countless opinionated posts that have no actual citation of rules.
We have cited rules. You have cited rules. And at this point, it seems there is a big cloud. So it things were presented more simply by all positions on the matter, greater clarity might be achieved.
In favor of DB being an attack, we have:
1. Common sense. While this might not be a rule in the book, it is common sense that when someone acts against another in a damaging fashion, that such action is an attack.
2. On page 185, DB is described as a counter-attack. Sure, there are no further rules on what that means, but that is not necessary where the plain meaning is clear, that it is an attack.
3. On page 185, it can be taken when he takes an AOO. That is certainly not clear, but is suggestive.
4. On page 185, the save is set by the sorceror's magic attack roll. On page 194, the magic attack roll is amde when you attempt to injure another with your magic or often to compel another. Further, by its very name, magic ATTACK roll, that indicates what it is used for is attacks.
5. Just because DB is not a standard action does not mean it is not an attack. The rules include others situations such as AOOs and follow-up Cleaves, which do not require a standard action and are clearly an attack.
Given the foregoing, DB appears to be an attack (#1-4), is not automatically ruled out as an attack because it is a free action (#5), and therefore common sense indicates that it is an attack.
At this point Sutek, if you could also provide a succinct summary of the reasons it should not be considered an attack, maybe we can achieve some resolution on this matter to your satisfaction (everyone else seems to agree it is an attack, but hey, maybe everyone else is wrong).