Reroll on Beams

G'Reat

Mongoose
I know that this is a stupid question. :shock: I just read on page 3 of the rule book that rerolls can't be rerolled again. Does that mean that you can reroll every attack dice of a beam weapon only once ? If it is a 4 AD beam weapon, can you only get 8 hits (with 4+ on all rolls)? Or can you get as many rerolls as you manage to beat 4+ ? I am pretty confused......
 
With Beams, you roll all your AD. If it's less than 4, throw them away. Those who got 4 or higher, set them aside and roll the same amount of dice again. Continue until you no longer have any hits.

For Re-Rolling (Concentrate All Firepower, Twin-Linked) on beams, you only re-roll the initial attack, not the additional die rolls afterwards.

Dark Angel
 
I thought as much, but I got unsure when I read the Beam description. It says:

"Furthermore, if an Attack Dice from this weapon successful strikes a target, immediately re-roll it to attack again. You may continue to re-roll every Attack Dice that scores a 4 or more, until you run out of Attack Dice."

It doesn't say that you can reroll the rerolls again. Just that you can reroll the attack dice which are the initial number of dice the weapon has. At least that is what I understood. Still a bit confused......
 
Re-roll every die that scores 4 or more.

Example: 8 AD Beam weapon. Roll 8 dice, you get 6, 4, 6, 3, 2, 2, 1, 5.

Discard the 3, 2, 2, and 1.

Set aside the 6, 4, 6, and 5.

Roll 4 more dice: 1, 5, 5, 4.

Drop the 1, set aside the 5, 5, and the 4.

Roll 3 more dice: 1, 2, 6.

Drop the 1 and 2, set aside the 6.

Roll 1 more dice: 1

No more rolls, last roll had no dice that struck 4+. Your attack will have a total of 8 AD.

Dark Angel
 
I'll just step in to clear this up,

First off beams are not as such re-rolling they are adding extra attacks, for instance

4 beam shots, say two hit, thats two hits, then for each hit you roll two more dice, say you hit once, you can then roll another attack and repeat until they all miss

Beams in 2nd edition do not benfit from concentrate all fire power p14, or the scout re-roll p19, there is currently no way to re-roll beam weapon hits except for tactical judgement rolls in campaigns, which can re roll any dice, but these do have to obey the never re-roll a re-roll rule.

Hope that helps :)
 
Back
Top