Question Suppression and "Allocated" dice

msprange said:
Bede said:
Matt,

Does that open up the possibility that the target can manipulate the dice to avoid suppression? (i.e. the target applies auto weapon's dice to models within 3" of the fire point and thus doubles up with the non-auto weapons?)

It is the attacker's choice which FZ he rolls for first, so the advantage is with him!

Ok. In your prior post you wrote that the "attacked" chooses. I guess this was a mistype (i.e .you meant to type attacker).
 
hithero said:
After posting the above I had another thought, sort of middle-ground compromise. You have suppression as currently written and if you do cause enough suppression including those out of sight then that side of the terrain piece becomes suppressed instead of the target.
This means that the unit could move or fire out of another side of a building but not out of the side that has the hail of bullets comming through the windows.

Too complicated/difficult to keep track of.
 
Really? Can't you just lay down a suppression marker on the building face or whatever method you use to keep track of unit suppressions. Just lay down a marker if you would have suppressed the unit if all models could be targeted, seems pretty simple to me.
 
hithero said:
Really? Can't you just lay down a suppression marker on the building face or whatever method you use to keep track of unit suppressions. Just lay down a marker if you would have suppressed the unit if all models could be targeted, seems pretty simple to me.

Yes, but now you're keeping track of which side of a building is suppressed? To each his own, of course, but I'd just as soon either play the rules as is, or draw the line elsewhere.

For example, if half or more of the unit is in the fire zone the entire unit can be suppressed if enough dice are shot at it to equal one per figure (so that does away with the "allocated" requirement for suppression)
 
Back
Top