Question on the Darklands


On p. 144 of the rulebook, under Grievous Damage, it says that when a Darklord hits you, you need to take a Fortitude save with a DC equal to the damage of the attack +5. However, on p. 69 of the Darklands sourcebook, under The Gift of Destruction, the Darklords' Ruinous Strike only calls for a save at a DC equal to the damage inflicted.

So which is right and which is wrong? Does the Darklands rules supercede the rules from the main book, or is it simply an oversight?

The Darklands supercedes the original rule; while playtesting the original rule with the stated Darklords in the supplement, it became very clear that the DC +5 was a litle TOO high. :)

I don't think I'll mention that rule change to the player whose character died at the hands of Barraka and the Dagger of Vashna last session (I was using a modified dagger, adding 1d6 damage and using Fort DC damage +5).