push/pull

cerebro said:
how much does it pull or push?. How far?.
How much: Says in the description: 1 SIZ or ENC per point of magnitute.
How far: You have no control over how far. I guess it can go as far as the maximum range (POW x 5 metres).

- Dan
 
Dan True said:
cerebro said:
how much does it pull or push?. How far?.
How much: Says in the description: 1 SIZ or ENC per point of magnitute.
How far: You have no control over how far. I guess it can go as far as the maximum range (POW x 5 metres).

- Dan

lets say I cast it on a spoon. How many meter would it fly away?.
 
cerebro said:
Dan True said:
cerebro said:
how much does it pull or push?. How far?.
How much: Says in the description: 1 SIZ or ENC per point of magnitute.
How far: You have no control over how far. I guess it can go as far as the maximum range (POW x 5 metres).

- Dan

lets say I cast it on a spoon. How many meter would it fly away?.

Well, it says you have no control over it. So it is up to the GMs decision - I think it's like if you just kick it randomly. It may fly 1 metre and slightly to the left, or it might fly 10 metres straigt.

- Dan
 
Dan True said:
cerebro said:
Dan True said:
How much: Says in the description: 1 SIZ or ENC per point of magnitute.
How far: You have no control over how far. I guess it can go as far as the maximum range (POW x 5 metres).

- Dan

lets say I cast it on a spoon. How many meter would it fly away?.

Well, it says you have no control over it. So it is up to the GMs decision - I think it's like if you just kick it randomly. It may fly 1 metre and slightly to the left, or it might fly 10 metres straigt.

- Dan
So you don't know. Got it.
 
cerebro said:
Dan True said:
cerebro said:
lets say I cast it on a spoon. How many meter would it fly away?.

Well, it says you have no control over it. So it is up to the GMs decision - I think it's like if you just kick it randomly. It may fly 1 metre and slightly to the left, or it might fly 10 metres straigt.

- Dan
So you don't know. Got it.
I don't know because the spell description explicitly says "the caster has no control over the distance pushed or pulled". So no one knows.

- Dan
 
cerebro said:
So what do I tell the player?.

Well, you can either decide for yourself that you roll a dice determining how far (1d12 seems appropriate) or you can think up what makes sense in the situation. Since the rule text doesn't describe anything particular you can't give a player a specific answer, unless you make it up yourself.

- Dan
 
cerebro said:
So what do I tell the player?.

Bear in mind what the spell description says (my emphasis):
'the caster has no control... as this depends on the location of the item and the surface it rests on.'

So your spoon is likely to be resting on a table - most likely wood, so it has reasonable friction - but the spoon itself is less than 1 ENC. In such a circumstance I'd rule that the spoon can be pushed or pulled 1 metre per point of Magnitude of the spell.

Larger items you'll need to adjudicate depending on the item (does it have wheels? Is it dense?) and its surface (low or high friction? Muddy or dry? Slippery?). There are too many variables to be able to give a series of precise rulings.
 
There's always the option of calculating how far it can throw things in terms of energy.

Given the formula for the spell, we could assume the energy it exerts is 9.82N/kg*1m*5kg ; Assuming it will move an object at the maximum of it's siz requirement 1m, directly up, when used from directly below. This gives us a base value of 49.1J per point of magnitude.

Then you could calculate the speed at which it fires the object from Ekin=m/2*v^2 , plot a positioning function and see when it stops to move.

Then if you have a surface from which it moves, you'll have to add the deceleration that surface causes on the object, from a various number of formula depending on whether it moves across a liquid, a solid material or a gas.

So all I can say is, it's up to the DM. But pushing at a door, would probably close it. And pulling a key would probably move it towards you some amount of meters.

This would need an Errata I agree though, the fact that it says the caster has no control also means the DM has no idea, which is pretty silly.
 
Back
Top